Register now to get rid of these ads!

OT. Any hamb'rs work in the railroad industry?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by elcamino65, May 31, 2011.

1. elcamino65

elcamino65
    from washington

I am thinking of pursuing a career in the railroad industry. I am looking at train crew positions and was wondering if anyone had any experience with these jobs.

2. WhiteDevilsCC

WhiteDevilsCC
    from Spring Tx.

I'm a locomotive electrician. Never been on a train crew but if work gets slow they are the first to go and last hired is first layer off just keep that in mind.

3. customs by jason

customs by jason

ive been trying to get on with norfork/southern for a while working on the trains but no luck yet seems like a great job tho

4. If they're short on crews you can work 30 days without a day off, expect to have no life while working, it's rough on personal relationships and marriages - a lot of guys I know have been divorced at least once - until you build up seniority there's nothing regular about it, you bid jobs by your seniority so at first you'll get the toughest, crappiest assignments no one else wants. You can work 30 years and still not be able to hold down a regular, 5 day a week job out of your home terminal, because there's almost always guys ahead of you.

If the train breaks down you can be expected to change hoses or knuckles after walking back 50, 75, 100 carlengths regardless of weather, location, or time of day, they just have two men on the trains now, so the conductor does all of the ground work. You might work a full 12 hours and outlaw and then have to wait longer still for a cab to get you - and get called back as soon as the legal rest period is up. It can be grueling hard work at times.

Some of that is from my own knowledge and some of it is what the CSX rep told us when I took the test they give prospective employees.

5. elcamino65

elcamino65
    from washington