Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical olds rocket into 54 chevy truck with Hydra-Matic ???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by droplord49, Jan 23, 2019.

1. droplord49

droplord49
    from Bryan, Tx

I have a running/driving 54 Chevy 3100 with a factory Hydra-Matic. I also have a 53 Olds 303 that I'd like to swap into the truck. Does anyone know if I am wrong to assume the 303 will bolt right up to the Hydra-Matic? I know there are variations of the Hydra-Matic, but I assume the bell housing patterns are all the same? I'm thinking, other than motor mounts, it should be a pretty straight forward swap. Any input/suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks

2. oliver westlund

oliver westlund

hydras are cheap, if yours doesnt bolt up you csn probably sell it snd find the right one, i have one for sale right now. too bad we arent closer

3. Hnstray

Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL

I am no expert on these units, but have a casual familiarity with them. That said, I think you are close to having a 'bolt in', at least as regards the engine/trans connection. However, I think it will require the Olds have it's own torus (bolts to the crankshaft) and the Olds intermediate bell housing that connects the back of the Olds block with the Hydra-matic case. All the main cases of Hydra-matics of that era I have seen have all been the same bolt pattern. The intermediate bell housing plate varies with application.

I don't know if the Chevy version of the Hydro is 'tuned' correctly (shift points, etc) and Olds linkage from the carb to trans will probably be needed.