Register now to get rid of these ads!

Olds 371 vs 324 ??

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 55olds88, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. 55olds88
    Joined: Jul 23, 2001
    Posts: 2,383

    55olds88
    Member

    O.K. just thinking aloud here, what would be involved in swapping a 57 Olds 371 in place of a 55 324 in my 55 ? Can I still use my existing Hydro ? do the 57 engines mount the same ??
    Thaught process being a running 57 might be better (like saving thousands in rebuild costs) then building the stuck 56 engine I have in the shed which is slotted to go in the 55 while the 324 comes out fro another project.....
    Anyone done this swap or have acess to both engines to confirm ?
     
  2. DON_WOW
    Joined: Feb 14, 2002
    Posts: 218

    DON_WOW
    Member Emeritus

    Yes the mounts will be the same ,, but you will have to get the 324 flywheel offset balanced to be used with the 371 because the 371 is not a zero internal balance like the 324.
     
  3. 55olds88
    Joined: Jul 23, 2001
    Posts: 2,383

    55olds88
    Member

    thx Don,
    I figured about as much just wasn't sure on the mounts and stuff, the balancing is something an engine/Trans shop should be able to sort o.k. ? nothing too technical right ?
     
  4. owen thomas
    Joined: Jun 15, 2008
    Posts: 185

    owen thomas
    Member

    The 371 crank probably doesn't have a pilot bushing that the early trans requires - and the crank probably isn't drilled and bored for one either.

    Have to pull the crank and take it to a good machine shop. Take the 324 along to duplicate bore.
     

  5. 55olds88
    Joined: Jul 23, 2001
    Posts: 2,383

    55olds88
    Member

    o.k. that could be more of an issue......
     
  6. d2_willys
    Joined: Sep 8, 2007
    Posts: 4,110

    d2_willys
    Member
    from Kansas

    Pretty much covered what I was going to mention. Did the Hydro to 371 years ago and the only other thing is that the early hydro setup has the dowels I believe are on the engine block, whereas the 57 transmissions had the dowels. So you will need to work on the dowels to get proper alignment.

    One last thing, some of my motors manuals show a gasket between the flywheel and crankshaft. Others say to use sealer in place of gasket. I have had better luck with the gasket, but if you want to use only the sealer it needs to be PLIOBOND.
     
  7. 55olds88
    Joined: Jul 23, 2001
    Posts: 2,383

    55olds88
    Member

    thx for the info, might just keep my eyes open for a good 56 runner sounds easier and probably fool the law here a bit better too.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.