Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Old Steel or New Glass

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by greaserchief, May 14, 2014.

1. So im curious, im really thinking about my next project and what i want is to build a 30 or 31 henry Coupe. But the question in my mind is this, do i search the country for that perfect original steel body then pay to sand blast it, replace panels, fix rust , maybe replace a floor...it could go on.
    Or do i find a nice glass, chopped body ...which i could get in a 32 if i so wish, and just primer the thing and set it on a frame and be done with it.
    Now before you answer let me just say in my defence that i have already made up mind on the direction i'd like to go, I've been building for over 30 years and im getting tired of doing it, so i'd like to build one last good one while i have half the strenth to do so.
    What say you. and just so you know, i want to build a 50's early 60's style High boy.

8flat likes this.
  2. Hmmmmmn, decision, decisons. I am thinking about getting a repop corvette in steel. :rolleyes:

Actually, I prefer to work with steel but glass has its merits. Does someone actually still make a glass A bone? I know you could by them in the '60s although I don't think that they were mass produced and mostly they were race bodies. If I had cash in hand and was not aware of the body that I wanted to build and it was reproduced in glass I may consider glass. I may take the full paint and interior route with it myself, but I would like to one time own a nice car with a decent paintjob. I have been building since about '68 and have never really owned a car that I could say in total honesty that was a finished car.

3. Bad Daddy

Bad Daddy

There's your answer right there. If you want to build "one last good one", do it in real Henry steel. There's nothing better.

4. dana barlow

dana barlow
    from Miami Fla.
    1. Y-blocks