Register now to get rid of these ads!

Oil pressure sending unit question?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by RW, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. RW
    Joined: Jun 16, 2007
    Posts: 12

    RW
    Member
    from Milwaukee

    I am going to throw this question to all you HAMBERS. I have a 1949 ford dash all gauges are working but I am tring to get the oil pressue gauge to work off the small bock chevy i have installed.. Does anyone know what sending unit i can run?
     
  2. brokenspoke
    Joined: Jul 26, 2005
    Posts: 2,932

    brokenspoke
    Member

    I think the 49 is mechanical isnt it? Just connect it up
     
  3. 325w
    Joined: Feb 18, 2008
    Posts: 5,749

    325w
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    If its electric why not try to adapt it to the sbc sender location. If converted to 12 volt a voltage reducer should be used.
     
  4. `49 ford is electric.
     

  5. blown49
    Joined: Jul 25, 2004
    Posts: 2,212

    blown49
    Member Emeritus

    You will need to use the Ford sender 1/4" NPT threads. May have to adapt to the Chevy hole I don't know what size it is.
     
  6. 36tbird
    Joined: Feb 1, 2005
    Posts: 1,107

    36tbird
    Member

    Plug the flathead sending unit in the Chevy, may need an adapter, and put a voltage reducer going from the instrument power wire to the gauge then to the sending unit. I have had this set up for years on my '36 Ford running a SBC and stock instrument. Works great! I do not know if it is calibrated or not, but don't really care. It shows a lot of pressure when cold and comes down to mid-range when hot. You can run a ceramic volt-a- drop or the ones I like are those from mid-60's Ford instrument panels, little pods with spades. Apparently Ford kept all of their gauges at 6 volt long after converting to 12 volt so they needed reducers.
     
  7. Flat Ernie
    Joined: Jun 5, 2002
    Posts: 8,406

    Flat Ernie
    Tech Editor

    36tbird has it right - these gauges are still the king-sealy type of deal & modern sending units usually won't work with them at all. Use the original sending units everywhere (oil, temp, fuel) and run a 6V CVR (check with HAMBer Mart - he sells a nice one) to power them.
     
  8. RW
    Joined: Jun 16, 2007
    Posts: 12

    RW
    Member
    from Milwaukee

    Right on.......... thanks guys
     
  9. scibjenkins
    Joined: Jul 10, 2005
    Posts: 492

    scibjenkins
    Member

    This helped a lot, thanks. Thought it was worth bumping back up. May help some of you out too.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.