Register now to get rid of these ads!

oil press. gauge

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bogart62, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. bogart62
    Joined: Dec 20, 2006
    Posts: 180

    bogart62
    Member

    O.k. So I had this gauge made up for me along with a new oil press. sender.. Gauge reads zero. I tested gauge by touching both terminals of the sender, gauge goes all the way over to the other side of the face buried. I guess that tells me the gauge works. Put an ohm meter on the sender it reads 247 so I believe it is good too. When you start vehicle gauge doesn't function. Any thoughts? Thanks, Kent
     
  2. birdman42
    Joined: Jan 18, 2012
    Posts: 400

    birdman42
    Member

    sounds like the sender may be bad even though it has resistance the rheostat my not moving.
     
  3. upspirate
    Joined: Apr 15, 2012
    Posts: 2,179

    upspirate
    Member

    Teflon tape used and insulating the ground on the sender?

    Wire continuity?
     
  4. Jokester
    Joined: Jan 29, 2005
    Posts: 382

    Jokester
    Member

    Ground wire to the dash/gauge?
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. Did you get a wiring diagram? Most OP gauges are wired with the positive side of the gauge going to switched your switched voltage and the other goes to the sending unit.Some gauges also need to be grounded. Most sending units have only one terminal that is attached to the gauge input and the ground is gotten through the sending unit body when screwed into the block. If you sender has two wires you might need to ground one as there may be no internal connection within the sender to the unit body. It would help to know what what kind of car the gauge is designed for.Who ever made the gauge should be able to help you.
     
  6. propwash
    Joined: Jul 25, 2005
    Posts: 3,858

    propwash
    Member
    from Las Vegas

    this is only one of the reasons I never use an electrical gauge for mechanical measurements (water temp, oil press, oil temp, vacuum, etc).

    Did you put Teflon® tape on the threads? That could cause the sending unit to lose its ground to the block itself. If there's only one wire, the sender needs to provide the ground. If there are two wires, one goes to a good ground.
     
  7. bogart62
    Joined: Dec 20, 2006
    Posts: 180

    bogart62
    Member

    Thanks guys. It is a 2 wire sender. I will check the ground on the sender. The company who built it for me has been rather difficult to deal with. If I can't trouble shoot it I may have to seek out another gauge rebuilder. Thanks, Kent
     

    Attached Files:

    • 036.JPG
      036.JPG
      File size:
      131.6 KB
      Views:
      47
  8. propwash
    Joined: Jul 25, 2005
    Posts: 3,858

    propwash
    Member
    from Las Vegas

    by the way - that is a stunningly beautiful truck you have.
     
  9. bogart62
    Joined: Dec 20, 2006
    Posts: 180

    bogart62
    Member

    Thanks propwash. Came out of AZ. After all the work was done just bolted the body and box back on. Not gonna paint it. Most fun I have had with a vehicle. No super duper paint job to worry about. Just tryin to get all this gauge business taken care of. Thanks. Kent
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.