Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical ***October 2016 Banger Meet - Great Pumpkin Time!***

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Jiminy, Sep 30, 2016.

  1. Crazydaddyo
    Joined: Apr 6, 2008
    Posts: 3,132

    Crazydaddyo
    Member

  2. burl
    Joined: Nov 28, 2007
    Posts: 597

    burl
    Member
    from Minnesota

    Now i see how you did that.I left enough on the inside so I could still load up on a four jaw chuck and not have it come flying out of my lathe.Does it seem to make a difference going down to that light of weight ?
     
  3. youngrodder1929
    Joined: May 28, 2006
    Posts: 416

    youngrodder1929
    Member
    from Vancouver

    1477457073990.jpg
    The aluminum one was 28lbs shipping weight from specialty cams see how it goes last one was around 38lbs if i remember 1477457178704.jpg

    Sent from my GT-I9502 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    Dannerr and burl like this.
  4. you are counting weight with out the clutch right? Maybe a stupid question, but you never know.
     
  5. denis4x4
    Joined: Apr 23, 2005
    Posts: 3,306

    denis4x4
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Colorado

    Just weighed mine on a balance beam scale and it came in at 36 pounds.
     
  6. Crazydaddyo
    Joined: Apr 6, 2008
    Posts: 3,132

    Crazydaddyo
    Member

    I mount it to a crankshaft end that in mounted and trued in a 4 jaw chuck. I can take the flywheel on and off without changing the set up.

    I don't know what you are running it in, but if it is just a hopped up street car, then you will not see much difference between 45 lbs and 36 lbs.

    .
     
  7. Where's the other two holes for the flywheel? :eek:
    I know the crank would need to be drilled but if you have it all apart, I think it would be worth the time and effort!:rolleyes:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2016
    Dannerr likes this.
  8. Bluto
    Joined: Feb 15, 2005
    Posts: 5,114

    Bluto
    Member Emeritus

    The BIG engines round here weigh less than all-0-yalls flywheel...... motto is don't work on nothing you can't carry round under your arm :cool:
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2016
    Crazydaddyo likes this.
  9. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 3,895

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    that's amazing jim .
     
  10. youngrodder1929
    Joined: May 28, 2006
    Posts: 416

    youngrodder1929
    Member
    from Vancouver

    You have a very good point I'm going to look into doing it
     
    530sandman likes this.
  11. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 3,895

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    sandman has an ohv - more hp than a flat head
     
  12. fourd
    Joined: Jan 17, 2013
    Posts: 65

    fourd
    Member
    from Colorado

    Is anyone using a Yapper Riley 2 Port Head and not using the intake valve plugs in deck... with success?
    If I rip the motor out for the port plugs I may work the head over. How about porting the intake? If you did the porting was it worth the effort? There seems to be plenty of iron there and I would match the intake.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. I would definitely at-least match the ports! I have a friend running one, and it's a really good running car! He didn't build the engine but If I was you, I would plug the holes, if that's what it calls for!?
    Mine is plugged and has holes to use as a guide for the push rods! I did have to ream the holes because they were a little tight! (Mine is a 4 port cross flow CRAGAR)
    Joe
     
    Dannerr likes this.
  14. youngrodder1929
    Joined: May 28, 2006
    Posts: 416

    youngrodder1929
    Member
    from Vancouver

    Pretty sure yap has some plugs still kicking around as far as porting goes i am going to as well as flow it, It couldn't hurt there is a lot of massaging that could be done in there pretty rough design flow wise
     
    Dannerr and fourd like this.
  15. I always understood the purpose for plugging the holes was to get as much surface for the head gasket to grip as the theory was that the gasket would/could slip under higher compression. The plugs were to be fitted as close as possible then dressed flat with a file or the block resurfaced. Most are pressed in but I have the block for my 4 port and the plugs are brazed in.


    Sent from my iPad using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  16. H and H has the plugs, and I would definitely resurfaced the block just to be sure, also check all the block threads, in-case you need repair! (It would suck to get it all done then as you torque the head down, you pull a stud up!!!!:eek:)
    Joe
     
  17. Jiminy
    Joined: Oct 25, 2012
    Posts: 325

    Jiminy
    Member

  18. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 3,895

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    I actually said some thing "interesting" ............... cool ...... thanks
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.