Register now to get rid of these ads!

Novice Wiring oversight. HELP!!!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mopar Mama, May 26, 2008.

1. Mopar Mama

Mopar Mama
    from Boise, ID

So, I'm a little new at this. I don't mind dirt, grease, any of it really. I have a beginner's knowledge of mechanics, but when it comes to wiring, my head is pretty far up my ass. Being the go-getter that I am, I tore everything out thinking "I'll remember where that went." Yeah. To make matters worse, I think it was grounded on the alternator! Long story short, I fried the alternator. I have a new harness which I was planning on installing today, but I don't know what to ground to. I have searched the web without any success. Wiring diagrams anyone? Or can you at least tell me where my ground is? It's a 52 Plymouth Cambridge with a 218 6. Same from 49 to 52. I know others are building them. Any info would be much appreciated! :confused:

2. piker

piker
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

There is a book with cartoon pictures and its called something like "wiring for dummys" its only like 7 bucks. Its what I always refer too. Your car could also possibly be pos ground instead of neg ground. My 50 stude truck is 6volt pos groung.

3. You say alternator I think 12 volt. On GM alternators you don't have a ground wire for the alt. The ground runs thru the head and block. You must have a ground from the battery to the block are frame and even better both.

4. as 325w said....do you have an alternator that's 12 volts negative ground , or a generator with 6 volt positive ground?

5. If you are 12V neg ground, I have always been a believer in extra grounds never hurting anything. I tend to put extra engine to body, engine to frame, frame to body ground straps. it really helps the cicuits flow. I also take a factory wiring diagram, go to Kinko's, or another print shop and have them blow the drawing up to a larger copy. then color it with a color pencil set and install one circuit at a time.