Register now to get rid of these ads!

Newbie with Buick 215 questions in a 1963 Skylark...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by MikeDaMechanic123, Oct 13, 2018.

1. Hello all, newbie here...

So I helped my friend acquire a 1963 Buick Skylark that has what seems like apparently a seized engine. There was a lot of work done to this car over the years and it looks really nice and has been painted but it's a project that is not done yet. The guy he bought it from has not really helped as far as tell me if he ever tried to get the motor running so I'm assuming it's bad because he had the hood off the car and I think it was just too much of a project for him, probably money wise...

However I'm doing some research and thinking about getting a Rover engine that supposedly runs because my idea is just to get the car running... So this Rover engine does not include a flywheel, an intake, an oil pan or a timing cover... I'm sure that I can use them off the other original engine but, I figured that somebody ran the engine with low oil pressure because that's what I've run into with other Buick engines, and ruined the Engine until ceased. My big questions are can I use the modern V6 timing covers that are brand new? Because it just seems like there's a difference with the timing mark in a different location which does not bother with me. The other thing is, is there a difference in the flywheels? Basically I want to know if a 1984 Rover engine will be a direct bolt in, but I also have another question...