Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Newbie here ,question about BB into a Desoto

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by 57james, Apr 14, 2018.

1. 57james

57james

I have a 1953 Desoto Firedome ,that I want to put a 383 mopar in it ,looks to be a tight fit ,I think it will work ,I'll need a remote oil filter and a rear sump pan ,my question is are there any aftermarket mtr mount stands out there? has anybody done this swap? any pics of the mtr. mount set up?
    I hope I posted this in the right forum. (ps) the original hemi is long gone ,and I'm not interested in trying to find and build one ,I'm on a budget .

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  2. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole

I don't know anyone who has done this swap. But the 53 DeSoto used the same chassis as Chrysler and both were available with a V8 that year. The hemi was quite bulky especially the width across the cylinder heads. So the 383 should fit without too much trouble.

It sounds like you are doing some careful planning. I doubt there are ready made motor mounts. They are usually the least of your problems. In these swaps you spend half your time fitting engine and transmission and the other half fitting throttle linkage, gearshift linkage, wiring etc.

In your case you will need to change the rear axle to get one with handbrakes (DeSoto had theirs on the transmission). This will give you the opportunity to get rid of the old driveshaft too, it used obsolete universals you can't get anymore.

Which brings up another point. The drive shaft, universals and transmission may have value to a restorer or someone who runs an old DeSoto, Chrysler or Dodge. These parts are getting scarce. They don't have a lot of $$$ value but you could make someone's day if they are trying to keep their old Chrysler or DeSoto on the road.

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  3. 57james

57james