Register now to get rid of these ads!

New member, 1952 Ford F1, zero knowledge!

Discussion in 'New to the H.A.M.B.? Introduce yourself here!' started by twist my arm, Jan 18, 2019.

1. twist my arm

twist my arm

I want to start out by stating other than changing spark plugs, water pumps, thermostats, oil changes and a few other basic things I have ZERO knowledge of repairs/restoration. I will be rescuing a 1952 F1 that has been sitting in my Grandfathers back lot since ~1987. I will be 28 this year, and I have dreamt about this truck since I was in elementary school. I have stacks of "old" Classic Truck and Truckin mags, and used to occupy my time drawing pictures of it in every style I could imagine.

My Grandfather remarried and bought the truck from her father who was the original owner in '79. My father drove it to highschool ~'85 and it was parked due to an issue with the master cylinder ~'87. I will be the 4th generation in my family to get behind the wheel of this piece of history. With some determination, information from you kind folks, friends/family, and my wonderful neighbor who has offered me a bay in his garage to tinker my goal is to get it back on the road in one form or another.

I do have a few initial questions and I am not familiar with this forum or its rules, my apologies if this was the wrong place.

1. What is a basic checklist to try and crank the engine up the first time, along the lines of this roadkill episode?

2. How common is a 1952 f1 with a factory '53 flathead? F1R2NR vin = '52 F1, '53 239ci v8 with a 2BC from what I can tell.

Any build links, information you think would be relevant or helpful, or things to look out for would also be greatly appreciated!