Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical New leafs or full leaf kit?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Chris Vander Mey, Mar 26, 2019.

1. Hi folks -

I'm new to the HAMB so please forgive me if I'm asking a question y'all have answered before.

I have a 1956 Chevy 3100 truck. 383 SBC, Heidts front clip, lowered pretty significantly - the rear GM 8.5" with drums is flipped to above the stock 7 leaf springs so it sits pretty low. Generic white shock absorbers. When I hit a bump the front rides OK but the rear end goes WHAM - hard - on pretty much any bump.

So I'm thinking about either putting in new monoleafs (https://www.performanceonline.com/1955-59-Chevy-GMC-Truck-Mono-Leaf-Spring-Set-Rear/) and some gas-a-just shocks OR a full TCI leaf spring suspension: https://totalcostinvolved.com/products/1955-1959-chevy-pickup-leaf-spring-kit/ The latter is definitely more work and cost - but it's not clear to me that it will make any difference replacing all the brackets.

Anyone have experience with this or thoughts on the matter? My goal is street ride quality, I don't lug anything. 'Cept maybe a 6-pack of IPA...

Thanks!
    Chris.

2. F&J

F&J

It sounds like it's the axle hitting the underside of the frame...
    The guys here will want to know how much space between the top of the axle tubes to the bottom of the frame.

If you have very little space there, you need to either raise the rear, or c-notch the frame, ( or stiffen the heck out of the springs....that will make it ride like a brick). Go measure and post what you have for space.

BJR likes this.
  3. Atwater Mike

Atwater Mike

<<'Cept maybe a 6-pack of IPA...>>

Duuuuude...:cool:

4. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole

Good advice to check the clearance between the frame and axle. You want about 5" for a decent ride. Are the rubber bump stops still there? They cushion the blow if you bottom out. On a lowered truck you might want to cut half off.