Register now to get rid of these ads!

new guy from so cal

Discussion in 'New to the H.A.M.B.? Introduce yourself here!' started by inkfamous50, Jul 12, 2012.

1. inkfamous50

inkfamous50

Hey there, name is chris, 33, have owned nothing newer than a 68 ever! just got a 50 chevy business coupe, all my other rides have been runners this is the first one ive got with no engine or trans in it. I am here to take any advice on getting this on the road, learn everything i can. and meet some good people. ive been working in body shops for 17 years thats my area but love wrenching. any advise is welcomed and appreciated. thanks

2. BadLuck

BadLuck

Hey welcome! im in your area.. maybe i'll see you around.. let me know if you have any questions.. we have a bunch of 49-54 chevys in our club.. so we might have some answers for you.. good luck

3. easyissy

easyissy

Welcome from So-Cal!!!

4. SoCalChevy54

SoCalChevy54

Welcome aboard homie... yea man, like my boy (BadLuck) said above we have plenty 49-54 chevys in the club and their built very similar. Some have mustang II front ends and some are stock, some chopped some not. So hit up homie for anything bro, were in your neck of the woods.... Vince

5. inkfamous50

inkfamous50

Thanks alot. yeah i dont know alot of people up in the desert im from O.C. (garbage grove) lol im still paying back $ to get this ride but next month im gonna be looking for and engine and trans? if you guys have any ideas id appreciate it, i want a str8-6 235 and a power glide, or would a 250 inline and ??? trans be better. its gonna be our daily driver. im just kinda lost where to start it has no eng or trans or drive shaft in it? want dependable eng and trans. and am i going to have to get motor mounts or brakets from a 216 to put on new block? any advice would be awesome. just looking for a good used drive train to get it on the road then i can build one while im rolling? where do you guys hit shows up here? thanks. sorry so long lol im new