Register now to get rid of these ads!

New guy........and need some advice

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by CaseyK, Feb 26, 2004.

1. CaseyK

CaseyK

I've been cruising the site for a while thought it is time for an intro. My name is Casey Ketterhagen and I stumbled across the hamb a couple of years ago looking for some old Nash parts. I'm located in Milwaukee, WI about a stone's throw north of the airport if anyone cares. I'm a Industrial Designer by trade, but the real love lies in the cars. I starting building my first car the summer between my 8th grade and freshmen year with my dad. It is a '65 mustang fastback that was found sitting in a garden in Tennessee, but it was complete and numbers matching. It took us about four years to complete it, and I still have it today. It's hard to believe it was done almost 15 years ago. Anyways, I've always been way into cars. My Dad has been the major influence. He's had a bunch of cars over the years, some of which he's probably even forgot about.
    Me on the other hand, have three carspresently. The mustang, a '50 and '52 nash rambler convert, (the 52 is a parts car) and a recently aquired '31 ford roadster (complete and rust free). I'll include a couple picts at the end. Anyways, I'm a newbie when it comes to the rods, the other stuff I've worked on has always been '55 and newer and not rods like the '31. I may ask alot of questions, but I have some catching up to do.

On to the questions:
    What are the obsticles in putting a '31 on deuce rails? Is there a gap between the frame and body? Does the trunk floor have to be raised due to the upsweep of the "32 frame?
    What am I going to have to do to accomplish this? If anyone has any build shots or advice I'd appreciate it.

Secondly, I want to run split wish bones in the front and back. How is this done? I know you have to cut the wishbone and weld a threaded bung to each end, but how do you determine where they mount on the frame?