Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Need info on 1955/1956 Buicks.

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by IronMikeLorah, Apr 11, 2017.

1. IronMikeLorah

IronMikeLorah

I'm new to the page and was hoping to get some help on a few things. First things first, I'm looking start up a project in the near future but I'm stuck on a few things. I'm looking to get my hands on a Buick but there are a few things I need to get cleared up.

First, I would prefer to get a '55 two door but all I ever seem to see are 56' Buicks out there. Since that's the case, I was wondering (and hoping they would) if '55 front fenders, hood, and grill parts would fit a '56. I could care less about how original the car is since my plan is a bit crazy anyway. I would imagine that they would fit with some help, but I'm not sure.

Second, engine options. I was hoping to try and shoehorn a 455 into the thing, but I need to know who the best dealers are with parts and how many options there are for big block Buick V8s. I already know what trans I'm putting in it so I don't need any help there.

Third, frame and chassis. What frames would fit a '55/'56 Buick two door and what are my best options?

2. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I had a 55 Special 4 door hardtop in 1966/68 that was a great car. Almost better lines than the two door cars and my friends loved the room in the back seat and being able to get in and out easy.
    I don't know why you think you need a frigging frame swap under one though as I drove that car at 80 as much as I drove it at 50 in that time frame and had the tickets to prove it and it drove great. The front end may cost a bit more to rebuild but the brakes are damned good for drum brakes and disk front kits are easy to find. A truck bar rear suspension setup works good in replacing the torque tube drive shaft.