Register now to get rid of these ads!

Need help bad, cut coils but....

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by PR51, Aug 26, 2011.

1. PR51

PR51

Hey guys I need some help & if anybody is willing/able that would be great...
    I need to add that I am a beginner so I'm not that knowledgable about this....

So from reading post on the HAMB, I decided it was time to try it out for myself and jump in blind. I figured it out pretty easily and here is what I did:

I put a jack under the control arm, took all the bolts out with the jack up under it (frame on stands) lowered the jack until the spring came loose. It turned out ok and I cut 1 1/2 coils out, put it back and all is fine but the shock... the top isn't coming through the hole so that I can put the top bolts back on... any help with this? am I missing something?
    I'm stuck here with one cut coil and the tire off at a dead end... and this is my daily ride.
    anything appreciated...
    thanks,
    Larry

2. matthew mcglothin

matthew mcglothin

huh..? Sounds weird..i had mine apart a bazilloin time and never ran into that problem. Just make sure you push the shock staight up and not at an angle...its easy to miss the hole.

3. matthew mcglothin

matthew mcglothin

also...your rubber shock gromments aren't doubled up by mistake???

4. need louvers ?

need louvers ?

Are you sure you have the spring all the way back up into the spring pocket? And, have you tried jacking the suspension up slowly so that the shock can be guided up into it's hole, or are you trying to put it in with the front end hanging?

5. Yes look at the doubled up busings first.

Then you may want to take the bottom of the shock loose and poke it through the hole get her started on the top side and then hook the bottom back up.

No help I'm sure but it is what comes to mind for me. If I was closer I would say hang tough I'll be right there.

6. Von Rigg Fink

Von Rigg Fink
    from Garage