Register now to get rid of these ads!

My first chop. 38 pickup

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Delmo, Mar 11, 2006.

1. Delmo

Delmo
    from Burbank

I want to thank everyone on this board for posting such great material to learn from. I'm a newbie here and just thought I would share with you all what I did tonight after reading a gazzillion posts about chopping. Thanks again.

Attached Files:

2. JaBoney

JaBoney

Looks good so far. Keep us posted on your progress.
    What kind of drive train ya got in mind?

3. Delmo

Delmo
    from Burbank

Well it's for a buddy of mine and he wants to run a small block chevy with 3 deuces. As far as chassis I was thinking of using the stock frame and channeling the cab about 6 inches and maybe throwin a drop axle in it. Any ideas?

O ya, just got the doors half done.

Attached Files:

4. skyrodder

skyrodder

Damn that Looks Great Bro! keep up the good work and keep us posted...........

5. catman

catman
    from El Reno

now that's my kind of chop, how you take out ? GREAT work man, keep pictures coming:cool:

6. rustrodder

rustrodder
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

The chop looks great. I channelled my cab 8 inches-probably 2 inches too much! Also running a drilled '40 ford axle with a suicide mount-thinking about replacing it with a 4" dropped Magnum axle to get a little lower. I moved the front axle about 12 inches forward-right under the radiator. My truck was a 3/4 ton, so it has a simple ladder frame-not the curved frame like the 1/2 ton and cars have. Running Ford Explorer leaf springs and brackets on the rear. Also shortened the frame-12" in front of the rear axle and 12" behind it-so I could shortened the bed down to 6'. By the way-I'm not running any fenders.

7. 41 Dave

41 Dave

Man, That chop is lookin' good. Keep the updates coming !

41 Dave

8. rustrodder

rustrodder
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

a couple of pics-(maybe if i can get them to load).

9. chrisntx

chrisntx
    from Texas .