Register now to get rid of these ads!

MOPAR GURUS help the new kid please!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by mackster, Feb 14, 2007.

1. mackster

mackster

I have a 1953 desoto powermaster with a missing steeringbox, I have installed an alternator instead of the old generator that was also missing. So the car starts except there is no steering box! I am getting desperate so I was looking to see what other steering box I can use. I tought about a corvair, I feel it may be too small for such a big car....What do you all think? any leads? thnxz in advance MKSTR!:D

2. mackster

mackster

Here is one picture to inspire you..:cool:

Attached Files:

3. mackster

mackster

I did that and only one person called back saying she does no thave anything left.
    Yeah, it is crazy how little parts are available for this car. OOH well, I will have to make something fit I guess.

4. OK question me an answer. the car is a cross steer or has a drag link? its a rear steer and not a front steer right?

Probably any number of 50s MOPAR boxes can either be adapted or bolt right in. That would include plymouth, chrysler, dodge.

5. mackster

mackster

This was a power steering box. I would prefer to retro fit a manula steering box it is a drag link. The pit man arm moves front to back of the car. the 55 I believe was the first that came with the cross steer.
    HELP!:eek:

6. mackster

mackster

Attached Files:

7. OK if you don't find a MOPAR box look at an F1 ford plentiful and cheap. Also a mustang box will also probably work.

Someone was parting out an early 50s Chrysler product in the classifieds in the last week or so. I'd say try a search but someone said that the search function isn't working.

8. AstroZombie

AstroZombie

9. captden

captden