Register now to get rid of these ads!

Mopar 833 and 360 questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Tocca, Oct 15, 2011.

1. Tocca

Tocca
    from Sweden

Hello everyone! I'm new here, but it seems to be a great forum! Me and my brother are building a hot rod from a 1932 Plymouth pa thrift. We are going for a drivetrain consisting of 8 3/4, 833 and 360. We bought an old a-body 833 from 64-65 with small tailshaft and ball and trunion but unfortionaly it's not complete, so I need some help with what parts I need as I have no experience with either this transmission or engine before. I am hoping some of you guys have this experience and are willing to help =)

I need a shifter. I found a seller for a hurst shifter from an 1967 barracuda, but will it fit my transmission? I don't know if it is the same to all a-body 833...

One of the arms for the shifter linkage is bent and have had some "bad" repairs done on it. Can it be repaired better and work or is it very important that these arms are 100% correct for the transmission to work correct?

We got a flywheel with the transmission, but I am not sure what kind of engine it is balanced for. Is there any way of finding this out without any special equipment? The casting number says its to a 340, but it has six small drilled wholes in the same place as you would drill three big holes in a flywheel to a 318 to make it balanced for a 360. (I don't think this is original for a 340 flywheel?)

If it's balanced for anything other than a 360, how do I re-balance it? Do I have to drill or can I fit weights to it? Something like this for example: http://www.kmjent.com/cart/product.php?productid=2077&cat=7109852

2. SinisterCustom

SinisterCustom

The '67 Barracuda shifter will work...