Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Model A rdstr from scraps

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Nailhead A-V8, May 26, 2015.

1. Nailhead A-V8

Nailhead A-V8

Hi I'm finally getting to the point of having collected enough junk to start putting things together I've never done this before so i'm going to have alot of questions. To start most of what I have is Model A [​IMG]
    the frame has both ends hacked off so though it seems most logical to start there i'm still looking for crossmembers. I have a stock A axle and a '52 F3 axle my research has indicated that the F3 spindles are the same as F1 so Question #1 which king pins do I use to put the F1/3 spindles on the A axle? (I may know someone with a stock model A kingpin set) #2 is there machining involved? shims?bushings? do i hog axle out to f3 pins or use shims/bushings with A pins? #3 will the axle put the spindles on a weird camber or caster? #4 the f3 has 12" drums but are 8 lug aside from an impossible to find IH travelall and '40 lincoln there are no 5.5 bolt circle 12" drums out there so the next question is (and the granddaddy of all) #5 what hubs and drums can I use on these spindles?F-3 12" drums 5212bp.png
    *EDIT: Nov. '21
    1) all these body parts are gone...I have a '29 roadster shell and a much better frame
    2) have a dropped tube axle now
    3) F-3 brakes traded for F-1 spindles/brakes

Last edited: Nov 7, 2021
  2. I have used Round back spidles with F-1 brakes on model A axles. I have also adapted the F1 brakes to the model A spindles and gone from there. if it were me I would knock the F3 spindles off the axle and the model A spindles off the a axle and do a comparison. Then go from there.

There is no doubt someone else who has an answer for you though.

Stogy and Nailhead A-V8 like this.
  3. Nailhead A-V8

Nailhead A-V8