Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Model A Rain Gutters - A New SKOOL Solution for an Old SKOOL Problem

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by rgriesbeck, Mar 26, 2021.

1. rgriesbeck

rgriesbeck
    from Vancouver

I've been working on my Model A Tudor for about 8 years now. My Henry Ford body came with no rain gutters, so I've been trying to figure out how to fix that for about 5 years now.

My Dad decided to just fill the grooves with Bondo (without telling me), that was never going to my way of doing it. So I wire wheeled the Bondo out and ordered me some new gutters.

I got some aluminum (2 piece) gutters from Macs. Knowing myself, I ordered 4 sets, giving me 2 "kicks at the can" per side.

I made up a wooden buck, mounted some metal channel to it and bent away. 20210326_104937.jpg

20210326_105101.jpg

The bigger problem now came trying to mount the inner piece onto the car with tiny nails, then somehow "pushing" the outer part onto the inner part. Long story short, it didn't go well...

20210326_103229.jpg

I let it sit over the winter and thought about a better solution. One day it came to me:

20210326_103058.jpg

Now I know this isn't the "traditional" way to do this, especially on a traditional car, but when I couldn't figure out another way to make wood, metal and aluminum work well together.

I needed a way to apply pressure onto the rail without crushing it, after a bit of time on the computer I came up with a simple design that I cut on my laser engraver.

20210326_103103.jpg

Then I generously applied the panel adhesive to the backside of outside gutter piece (the inner piece is no longer needed) and borrowed about 18 clamps from friends and crossed my fingers.
    20210325_160416.jpg

20210325_160422.jpg

20210325_160436.jpg

After letting it sit all night, we took a deep breath and removed the clamps...

20210326_103108.jpg

20210326_103115.jpg

20210326_103128.jpg

20210326_103134.jpg