Register now to get rid of these ads!

MII-Granada Rotors = unexpected track width

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by praisethelowered, May 26, 2010.

  1. praisethelowered
    Joined: Aug 14, 2003
    Posts: 1,103

    praisethelowered
    Member

    I have set up a mII IFS for my '35. . . I built a home-made crossmember to ElPolacko specs (only much prettier), then I bolted the parts together-

    Speedway MII dropped spindles,
    Speedway upper and lower arms
    Granada rotors

    I used the granada rotors to gain the extra track width. All over the net, all I have found is people stating that stock mII is 56-1/2" wide from hub to hub and it is 58" with Granada rotors. I want that 58" track width.

    For some reson my set-up adds up to 56-1/2". I checked to make sure that I have stock spec Granada Rotors, and I do. I double checked the dimension between the lower arm mounts and it is 21-3/4" which is standard MII width.

    Does anybody have an MII set up with Granada rotors that is actually 58" wide. . or is this one of those things that bounces around the internet echo chamber that everyone just assumes is true?

    I can still get there with some modifications, but if there is an easy mistake to point out I'd rather hear that.

    I already bugged ElPolako about this but I thought I should put it out to a wider audience to see if someone has the same set-up as me.
     
  2. praisethelowered
    Joined: Aug 14, 2003
    Posts: 1,103

    praisethelowered
    Member

    I found my post on page 5 few hours later. . . any help from guys that like to build cars?
     
  3. 38plymouth
    Joined: Apr 11, 2008
    Posts: 420

    38plymouth
    Member

    Is there not a sleeve that goes behind the bearing that comes in the kit to convert to Granada rotors on a stock M2 spindle. This is for using a Granada bearing, I haven't done it myself but I remember reading about it. I'm getting forgetful and half blind too, so......

    I think it was the kit for the caliper mounts for using metric GM calipers... or something likr that..
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  4. Antny
    Joined: Aug 19, 2009
    Posts: 1,071

    Antny
    BANNED
    from Noo Yawk

    Don't you need to use the "wide" control arms to get the wider track width? When I ordered my TCI MII kit, I had that option. Mine uses Caprice rotors, but the extra width is gained through the wider control arms, I believe.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.