Register now to get rid of these ads!

metallic paint mistake. I have a run! Help!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by choptvan, Sep 23, 2010.

1. choptvan

choptvan

So I made a big boo boo. I would post pix but the camera does not show it at all really. So, The run is more like a sag. About 3 foot long. So, what can I do to help this out? I am new at metallics and got in to big of a hurry. I know my mistake, but what now to fix it? Do I have to sand it all down? Any suggestions will help.....

2. carcrazyjohn

carcrazyjohn
    from trevose pa

I hate to tell you this you will have to repaint ,As soon as you try to sand the run out it wont match top coat ,

3. 48cad

48cad

I'm guessing it's a single stage metallic? If you would be more specific as to what products you are using, it would be helpful. Single stage Metallic is more difficult and less forgiving than a bc/cc system.

4. choptvan

choptvan

figured so. Sand it all down and start over?

5. choptvan

choptvan

my mistake. bc/cc and the base is getting dry now.

6. 48cad

48cad

I assume run is in the base? If so, relax no biggie. Step 1 - walk away and let the base dry. In general re-coat window for most bc is 24 hrs. Step 2 - sand run out, metallics I like to block to 600 grit. Step 3 - re- base it. don't get carried away with laying it on to heavy. Gloss is achieved with the clear not the bc. Step 4 - Clear it.

Good luck. Don't get in a hurry. Read instructions and msds sheets.

7. choptvan

choptvan

I got in a hurry for sure. THe heat had me concerned. Should have payed better attention. Just wasn't sure about how to take care of metallic. I was told, as you noticed, that taking care of metallic is an issue. So I thought I would ask. The bc is drying now. I will sand it out. I was laying it on thick caue it was turning out wrong (?) in me eye. Should have just done a few more light coats tehn I guess? I thank you for the words and your time.

8. mustangGTS

mustangGTS