Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Metal working question.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 57 Fargo, Apr 22, 2021.

1. Stupid question for the talented metal workers here. My Fargo fenders have a bunch of high spots from rocks hitting the inside, is a slapper better for smoothing this kind of stuff than a body hammer? Is there a better way? I’m a rank amateur compared to most on here but stubborn enough to fumble my way through it!

Rear fenders are the victims here.

Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.

2. A shrinking disk would probably be your best bet.

3. alchemy

alchemy

I'm assuming these are little dings the size of a dime, and maybe humped as thick as the dime.

I'd find a nice very low crown body hammer and a dolly that fits the inside of the fender's crown closely. With the dolly held gently under the bump you can tap straight down on the bump gently. Not hammering like a nail, but like you are quietly knocking on a door with your knuckles. You can always do more taps, but once you've gone too far you are doing harm. Easy does it, in circles on the ding. If you are making a solid clang sound you are done.

Sometimes it's easier to do work like this with the nice paint still on the surface. You can wet it down to see the sheen and check your progress. Run your open palm over the area. I've found for some reason my left hand can feel dents best, even though I'm right handed.

D-Russ, 57 Fargo and Hnstray like this.
  4. oldiron 440

oldiron 440

I've done body work for 45 years and never found the need for a shrinking disk.

TCATTC, 57 Fargo and Hnstray like this.

5. Dreddybear

Dreddybear

rod1, 57 Fargo and rockable like this.
  6. the-rodster

the-rodster

A shrinking disc is perfect for that kind of stuff.

Rich

57 Fargo and rockable like this.
  7. bill gruendeman

bill gruendeman

I would think a bullseye pick is just the ticket.

57 Fargo likes this.
  8. Pete1

Pete1
    from Wa.