Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical ***March 2020 Banger Meet Thread***

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Jiminy, Feb 29, 2020.

  1. fourd
    Joined: Jan 17, 2013
    Posts: 75

    fourd
    Member
    from Colorado

    I too felt couped up. Good time for a drive with little to no traffic. Boulder CO off in the distance. F62D95F6-6E9B-4EFA-87CB-BA2BE03F3A31.jpeg I found my oil filler leaking after my drive, a cheap repop type that does not press tight.
    I found this, claimed to be for 33-34 B motor. True? F4280FB1-98F2-4978-AFA8-9B71A1E35DF0.jpeg
     
  2. Hank56
    Joined: Apr 19, 2013
    Posts: 68

    Hank56
    Member
    from NC

    F436F903-BB7D-4DDC-A0B5-386EBED3774A.jpeg Weather was in the low 80’s in NC last weekend...I took the rpu out fri and sat for a cruise around town...banger ran like a champ!
     
  3. burl
    Joined: Nov 28, 2007
    Posts: 669

    burl
    Member
    from Minnesota

    Got my engine back from the rebuilders,looks pretty good.Modified the Mallory dual point mechanical tach distributor to fit.Got to figure out how to re-curve this to work. banger 1.jpg banger 2.jpg
     
  4. winduptoy
    Joined: Feb 19, 2013
    Posts: 2,122

    winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Cap looks right...but the rest of it doesn't. Is it for sale online...I'd check with
    Steve at Burts he is in your neighborhood
    I always have to use some sealant on the filler tube to block
     
    Old Dawg and fourd like this.
  5. guitarguy
    Joined: May 26, 2008
    Posts: 431

    guitarguy
    Member

    Not Ford Barn if it's destined to a Hot Rod. I plan on firing my Fronty T by coils and a stock style timer.
     
  6. winduptoy
    Joined: Feb 19, 2013
    Posts: 2,122

    winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Oooo a Chevrolet Brothers head on a Ford...Nice...I like the idea of you using the stock timer too. Photos?
    The T has a RAJO head so it is a Hot Rod for the day....
    Learned a few things....all old, original capacitors in a coil are bad. Just because someone replaced the capacitor doesn't mean that they used the proper value. A T coil cannot be properly timed without a good capacitor. I ordered some of the proper value from several sources...not all capacitors are created equal. I have some additional ones on order. I checked the capacitors before doing anything with them. The ones from 'Bobs' failed right out of the envelope. The ceramic ones that I got tested good. .47 uf at 400v. They tested good when installed in place of the originals and with new points the coils timed excellent.
    Everything was good until I re-poured tar to seal everything up.
    Out of 8 total, 50% failure rate I suspect to the heat of the tar...I have different capacitors on order and will modify my re-tar procedure. I'm also going to modify my replacement capacitor procedure so as to place them in the same location, pretty accessible under the tar, for ease of future service. This way, maybe they will never require any additional service.
    Stay Healthy
     
    Old Dawg and Jet96 like this.
  7. edfueler
    Joined: Oct 16, 2009
    Posts: 104

    edfueler
    Member



    I like that solution.
     
    Binger likes this.
  8. edfueler
    Joined: Oct 16, 2009
    Posts: 104

    edfueler
    Member

    IMG_1834.JPG
    The last gig we played before shut-down in Australia (open air, less than 100 people, all social distancing adhered to). Some would argue that, by playing 1940s cowboy tunes, we are already practicing social distancing.
     
  9. guitarguy
    Joined: May 26, 2008
    Posts: 431

    guitarguy
    Member

    Search "rebuild coil MTFCA" or some variations of that----just make sure to use the MTFCA tag. You should find some suitable tips and tricks by others.......don't use roofing tar, it's not the same.
    One of the biggest thing you need to make sure of is the secondary windings are OK and have continuity. Then you have to be super careful not to nick the secondary windings digging out the capacitors, because that will deem a coil immediately inoperable. But I'm guessing you already know this. I just wanted to post this as many good coils get damaged during rebuilds. I personally just leave it to someone else to do, Ron Patterson and Brent Mize are two of the best.

    All pics for my build are in the link in my signature, I do not have it running yet though. Just need to find more time and money.
     
    barrnone50 likes this.
  10. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    i extended mine & sealed at the block . no leaks
     
    fourd likes this.
  11. winduptoy
    Joined: Feb 19, 2013
    Posts: 2,122

    winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    fourd
    Here is a listing on HAMB Classifieds for one and it is the 'improved' oil fill tube qabd cap. Kind of pricey in my mind, I know the one I got from Steve at Burts was a lot less....and then I lost the cap
    https://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/threads/model-b-32-4cyl-oil-fill-tube-and-cap.1182290/
     
    fourd likes this.
  12. ghalperin
    Joined: Dec 10, 2012
    Posts: 189

    ghalperin
    Member

    It stopped raining, so it’s drive the banger to work day.

    On a side note, my cheapie choke cable keeps vibrating open (choke closed). Does anyone have any bright ideas? I already kinked the cable a little and it just slowed it down.

    753EBC98-3C71-41CA-8D26-5C0362018615.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
    Jet96, v8flat44 and Dustyp489 like this.
  13. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.


    i am using a solid wire (like lawn mower or many things) , no springs etc . just a push & pull .
    been using for several years & always the same . stays where i put it .

    nice car !!
     
  14. ghalperin
    Joined: Dec 10, 2012
    Posts: 189

    ghalperin
    Member

    Thx. That’s what I’m using now, but every couple of minutes, I look over and the choke is creeping closed. I was thinking about a spring steel catch ,of some type, to go over the knob and hold it in the open position. I’ve seen them somewhere.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
  15. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    im surprised it changes on its own . ill get pix of mine for tomorrow
     
  16. JakesA
    Joined: Jul 12, 2010
    Posts: 50

    JakesA
    Member

    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Winfiel...32-Ford-Flathead-SCTA-Hot-Rod-34/124125558309I have just noticed this listing on ebay for Winfield D downdraft carburetors.
    The add says they came of Clark Gables car. I know Gable was a car guy ad had same great cars, however I never knew he had a black 29 roadster. Does anyone know of this car?
    I wonder if they are thinking of Robert Stacks A which did have duel downdraft Winfields.
    Any thoughts on this?
    Thankyou.
    s-l1600 (97).jpg
     
  17. JakesA
    Joined: Jul 12, 2010
    Posts: 50

    JakesA
    Member

    Yes, I know Stacks A was a 30/31 model (not sure which).
     
  18. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    boy is some one proud of their carbs !! (ebay)
     
  19. Crazydaddyo
    Joined: Apr 6, 2008
    Posts: 3,179

    Crazydaddyo
    Member

    Anything equipped with a pair of D jugs is expensive. ;)

    .
     
    Jet96 and burl like this.
  20. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    i can relate to that !
     
  21. ghalperin
    Joined: Dec 10, 2012
    Posts: 189

    ghalperin
    Member

    D37A5C13-B4F8-4F11-9757-5E02C1DA0AFF.jpeg A56B6840-E64A-4299-ACFB-F8B55808C599.jpeg 47684019-655C-48A0-A00F-4E651827E279.jpeg Does anyone know where I can get a timing indicator? I’ve searched to no avail.
     
    v8flat44 likes this.
  22. Crazydaddyo
    Joined: Apr 6, 2008
    Posts: 3,179

    Crazydaddyo
    Member

  23. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.


    pix ... attached to old choke rod eyelet on gas tank ......
    just as it is seen , attached to carb
     

    Attached Files:

  24. ghalperin
    Joined: Dec 10, 2012
    Posts: 189

    ghalperin
    Member

  25. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    yes it does . i use one like that , works well . be sure when you mark your pulley , that #1 is at tdc ... important
     
  26. burl
    Joined: Nov 28, 2007
    Posts: 669

    burl
    Member
    from Minnesota

    Purchased mine from brattons
     
  27. johnneilson
    Joined: Apr 12, 2011
    Posts: 1,169

    johnneilson
    Member

    Old Dawg likes this.
  28. ghalperin
    Joined: Dec 10, 2012
    Posts: 189

    ghalperin
    Member

  29. ghalperin
    Joined: Dec 10, 2012
    Posts: 189

    ghalperin
    Member

    When I got to my office, the choke was half closed. It's only a couple mile drive. I'm gonna have to devise a clip of some sort to hold the choke knob in.
    IMG_6130.JPG IMG_6131.JPG

    I also mounted my '32 throttle, its so much nicer than the Model A throttle. The pedal needed a couple of bends to move it over and the pedal is much higher than the Model A, but it allows more foot room. I'm going to remove the foot rest.
    IMG_6133.JPG
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2020
    Dustyp489, Jet96 and waxhead like this.
  30. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    as john said ........ TDC is most important !!!!
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.