Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Making custom reproduction parts

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bobj49f2, Oct 29, 2013.

1. bobj49f2

bobj49f2

I'm curious, has anyone here made a profitable business custom making reproduction parts for stock cars? There are numerous places that make parts for Fords and Chevys but very few for the non Ford and Chevy cars.

I've been running a business in the industrial sector for over 15 years and I'm getting burned out. I enjoy the work itself but my customers are too demanding and expect everything done yesterday and can't understand I need to make a living doing this type of work.

I'm kind a jack of all trades, master of none type of person. I can do a fair job of metal fabricating, welding, bodywork, and painting along with most other types of work needed to get a job done. I've always enjoyed fabricating parts I either cannot find or could build cheaper than buying. I have a part in mind that I know no one reproduces and the original parts suffer a great damage rate and cost a great deal of money to have professionally repaired. My replacement part will out last the car and owner. This is just one part, I have other parts in my mind. I will not reinvent any wheels and will not try to underprice anyone already making parts. I'll be going after parts no one makes. I'm not planning on one or two parts but parts I figure I can sell 50-100+ pieces of each.

Has anyone made a decent living doing this? What are your thoughts on the demand? I don't want to get too specific right now, these won't be super complicated parts, just parts I can fab in my shop with the tools I have and if necessary I'd buy additional tools.

2. 53 COE

53 COE
    from PNW

3. bobj49f2

bobj49f2

I envision starting with parts I can produce using the tools I currently own; welder, plasma cutter, shop press and other tools I have been using for years to fab up parts for myself and my customers.