Register now to get rid of these ads!

Main Circuit breaker

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by johnod, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. johnod
    Joined: Aug 18, 2009
    Posts: 780

    johnod
    Member

    I've been considering installing a battery cut off switch, and I see you can get a manual reset breaker, that would to that job, as well being a circuit breaker.

    What I don't know is what size breaker to use.
    Anyone know how to figure this out?
     
  2. shinysideup
    Joined: Sep 1, 2008
    Posts: 1,627

    shinysideup
    BANNED
    from ruskin, fl

    Cool,hit the starter,oops reset the breaker.lol Repeat
     
  3. johnod
    Joined: Aug 18, 2009
    Posts: 780

    johnod
    Member


    That would be the wrong size breaker.:)
     
  4. fordor41
    Joined: Jul 2, 2008
    Posts: 917

    fordor41
    Member

    Add the amp draw of everything in the car plus maybe 10 percent more. If I was doing it I would use a temporary fuse. You could change the rating to zero in on the correct size.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. Dane
    Joined: May 6, 2010
    Posts: 1,353

    Dane
    Member
    from Soquel, CA

    Depends on what engine you're spinning, this should work for a 6 cylinder. I'd get a 250 amp for a big block V8. Stay away from the ultra cheap Chinese crap unless you like to walk alot.

    http://www.amazon.com/Bussmann-Hi-A...0?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1361423526&sr=1-10

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.