Register now to get rid of these ads!

Folks Of Interest Machinist's on the HAMB??

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by A31ModelA, Aug 20, 2008.

1. Well as many of you know back in May of 2007 I was hit head on by a drunk driver in my Daily(2005 f150 lariat) on the way to a job site. Well since then I have been unable to truly work at my job(self employed remodeling gig) So anyhow I am pretty well fixed up except for the most major of all my surgeries. I have a completely degenerated disk between lumbar 4 and 5, bulging disks between the disk above and below. So anyhow just some history as to why I am changing careers.

I enrolled in our local junior college for an associates in Industrial Machining. I talked to my instructor and WOW am I stoked. I got to check out all of the awesome equipment in the shop including the CNC equipment. I am totally new to this and am really looking foreword to it. I already have college credits and should only take me about 2 yrs or less to complete my Associates in Industrial Machining.

So what kinda pointers do the fellow HAMB machinists have for me? :)
    Where is good place like the HAMB, but for Machinist's?
    where is a good place to get some of the basic tools I will need?

Thanks in advance..

Will

2. punkabilly1306

punkabilly1306
    from ohio

know how to actually read a caliper and mics...dont just use digital and think your getting by. Know how to read a print and know what your tolerances are. Learn the symbols that are used on prints and get comfortable in being able to distinguish what they are being used for. Last, realize that is not always fun...its not always playtime on the mill, lathe, or cnc (if the company will let you use it ha), being a machinist is a dirty rough job a lot of the time, but the knowledge you learn from it you'll keep with you forever