Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Loostening Intake Manifold Bolts

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by EchoWars, Dec 27, 2019.

1. EchoWars

EchoWars

Might be my first post here, but TBO I've been reading for years. Glad to jump in!

Well, hey! I've got a Buick 225 odd-fire V6 that needed a valve job and a cam. Heads are back on and torqued, as well as the intake. So I'm preparing to put carb back on when I notice that the accelerator cable bracket actually utilizes the back two intake bolts!!!?

Its been apart for so long, not shocked I dropped the ball on that one. And although I've been fooling with engines for 40 years, can't say I've ever had a situation like this.

I was thinking of maybe loosening up ALL the bolts, removing the two that need to get removed to install the bracket, then re-torque the whole thing. Either that, or just totally spitball it and take out the two bolts, install bracket, and re-torque. I really do not want to pull the intake off. Nope, nope nope

(FWIW, intake gasket is a plane-Jane FelPro...RockAuto link: https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo.php?pk=125783&cc=1381227&jsn=8 , some sealer around the water passages, but otherwise installed dry)

So...what does the collective wisdom of H.A.M.B. think? I do appreciate your wisdom guys. Thanks!

2. I’ve run into this situation before with other o/t engines.
    Removed the offending bolt or two and installed whatever I forgot and problem solved dozens of times with no issue.
    I’ve also had it happen once on a gm 4.3 where I removed one intake bolt to install a ground strap and....... yup a leak.
    Two questions you need to ask yourself, how big a deal to re and re the intake now?
    How big a deal to re and re the intake once everything is in and bolted in the car ?

loudbang likes this.
  3. OLDSMAN

OLDSMAN
    BANNED

Just remove those two bolts install the bracket and retorque the bolts. Nothing bad will happen