Register now to get rid of these ads!

Looking to Get Started...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Tribalmonkey, Dec 14, 2020.

1. Tribalmonkey

Tribalmonkey

Let me start by saying I’m not a mechanic. I have never rebuilt an engine completely. The most I have ever done is replaced some head and manifold gaskets and rebuilt a couple of carbs on my old Jeeps. However, I have been wanting to do some sort of classic car/truck hot rod project for some time now. As I look online for some sort of project ‘deal’ I keep going back and forth about what project would most interested me. I’m definitely a Ford guy. I have considered an old Ford truck as a project and I’m really interested in flathead v8s and would love to learn more about them. As I dig around online I keep going back to that old school, traditional, hot rod style of a Model A roadster or coupe.

Like I mentioned above, I have never done a traditional hot rod build project like this before. I really don’t know anyone who has and I am not exactly sure where to get started. I hate the idea of buying a bunch of parts that I will never use because I really didn’t know what I needed or what I was looking at. I have been reading through many of the builds here on H.A.M.B. Very inspiring. I have purchased a few related books. Also motivating. I have a two bay workshop with most of the basic tools for the project. COVID has me working from home so I have a bit more extra time now. I’m looking for advice and recommendations on where to start?

Sent from my iPad using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

Last edited: Dec 18, 2020
  2. goldmountain

goldmountain

Stogy, TagMan, Tribalmonkey and 9 others like this.
  3. Wanderlust

Wanderlust

Find a complete but unmolested vehicle and have at it.

4. 2935ford

2935ford

Be prepared to spend lots of money! :)