Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Let's talk Cadillac 331's, 365 and 390's

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Roothawg, Apr 7, 2016.

1. Roothawg

Roothawg

So, after many months of tosing and turning in bed, staring at the ceiling and one really arduous thread about the coolest hot rod engine ever. I have decided on building a Cadillac engine for the 36. I have read a little on the net about it, but there doesn't seem to be a lot of info out there.

So, at this point all I know is that it looks similar to a sbc in some aspects. 4 inch bore, and a 3-7/8 " crank on the 390. Can you retrofit some of the Chevy parts to save some $$ and get good forged parts?

I have read that the non-ajustable rockers limit your cam selection. Who reworks the shafts these days?
    I need a good source for parts etc.

Are there any good build up articles from the old magazines etc?

I am a Cadillac virgin, go easy, it's my first time.

Root

2. Moriarity

Moriarity
    SUPER MODERATOR
    Staff Member

Studebaker rockers are adjustable and they fit caddies, there usually some for sale here in the classifieds.

3. Roothawg

Roothawg

Any particular ones?

4. The Studebaker rockers fit the Cad. shafts... but you'll have to dimple the valve covers, make spacers to raise the covers or find a set of old Hildebrandt or Edelbrock covers to clear the rockers. Also you'll need custom push-rods to get the geometry and ball-ends right. So yes, they fit but it's not a "bolt-on"...

Okie Pete and Scotty's Garage! like this.

5. Roothawg

Roothawg

Were they hyd or solid lift? I seem to remember seeing solid pushrods.

6. Moriarity

Moriarity
    SUPER MODERATOR
    Staff Member

7. Moriarity

Moriarity
    SUPER MODERATOR
    Staff Member

Old thread but it may be helpful

Speed Gems and ls1yj like this.
  8. Pete

Pete