Register now to get rid of these ads!

Learn me about Qjets

Discussion in 'The Antiquated' started by sploke, Apr 27, 2020.

  1. sploke
    Joined: Apr 27, 2020
    Posts: 4

    sploke
    Member
    from CT

    Heya! So I have kind of a stupid project. I have a 1953 Allis Chalmers WD45 tractor and I'm swapping a sbc 350 into her. Going well so far. We bought the engine from a friend of a friend, came out of a 1984 Chevy pickup of some sort. I'm getting close to being ready to try firing this thing so I figured I'd take a look at the octopus of a carb I pulled off the motor and tossed into a box some months ago. It's a Rochester Quadrajet with about million vacuum lines running off it, I'm assuming for emissions control and fuel metering purposes. I've never dealt with this kind of carb before so I originally just assumed I could plug up unneeded lines and pull off the extra crap and just run it like an old school carb. Doing some quick reading indicates it might not be that simple. Is there hope for this setup or am I completely out to lunch on this?
     
  2. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 46,096

    squirrel
    Member

    Does it have several wires going to it? Specifically, one on top for the MC solenoid, and another on the side for the TPS?

    [​IMG]

    if so, then you really want to start with something else. If it does not have these, then you can just plug all the holes, and it will probably work ok.

    but keep the thing about being in a tractor to yourself, this is a hot rod forum, not a tractor forum, and that kind of stuff is not allowed here!
     
    sploke and Unique Rustorations like this.
  3. sploke
    Joined: Apr 27, 2020
    Posts: 4

    sploke
    Member
    from CT

    Oh it's going to be a hot rod alright....just happens to have really big rear tires :)

    Thanks for the pic, that helps a lot.
     
    Truck64 likes this.
  4. sploke
    Joined: Apr 27, 2020
    Posts: 4

    sploke
    Member
    from CT

    IMG_20200427_205947.jpg And no wires...
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. 67drake
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 64

    67drake
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Avoca WI

    Might want to try here too, they have a forums area. If you don’t find the answers you might want to talk to Cliff himself via phone.

    https://cliffshighperformance.com/
     
    bill gruendeman and sploke like this.
  6. Doublepumper
    Joined: Jun 26, 2016
    Posts: 607

    Doublepumper
    Member

    I've used those a couple times with no problems. Pull and plug the un-needed vacuum lines and idle step-up stuff, but leave the choke pull-off can and linkage.
     
    squirrel likes this.
  7. saltflats
    Joined: Aug 14, 2007
    Posts: 10,078

    saltflats
    Member
    from Missouri

    You may want to tap out the idle mixture plugs before you install it.
     
  8. Doublepumper
    Joined: Jun 26, 2016
    Posts: 607

    Doublepumper
    Member

    The idle mixture screws have a rectangular head on them and are tough to adjust without a tool that has the correct shape. I made one by grinding a slot in a junk 5mm nut driver.
    thumbnail.jpg
     
    sploke likes this.
  9. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 46,096

    squirrel
    Member


    what, they're still there after 35 years? figure the odds!

    :)
     
    saltflats likes this.
  10. saltflats
    Joined: Aug 14, 2007
    Posts: 10,078

    saltflats
    Member
    from Missouri

    Good point Jim.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.