Register now to get rid of these ads!

Lead Sled term an Insult ????

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Kingcrow, Jul 24, 2009.

1. Kingcrow

Kingcrow

google LEAD SLED and got this from Wikipedia...

"Originally, the lead sled referred to extensively repaired/modified cars due to the use oflead as body filler and was, for the most part, an insult.

Since the introduction of man-made fillers (such as Bondo), the term has come to mean a post-war, large (full size)Americancar of the 40s, 50s and early 60's (generally up to (but not including) the 1965 model year).

A lead sled tends to have all extra side moldings shaved off and filled with the suspension lowered. Lead sleds are built for style, not speed. Some common lead sleds are the 1949 Mercury, 1949 Ford and the 1959 Cadillac"

Was it an Insult at one time?...thats news to me

2. Mazooma1

Mazooma1

nope..never an insult here in California and I've been doing this for 50 years

3. John_Kelly

John_Kelly

4. Relic Stew

Relic Stew
    from Wisconsin

My understanding was "lead sled" was a derogatory term the hot rodders used to describe a car that was all show and no go. Lots of fancy body work, but no speed. But that's just what I've heard.

Sort of like calling something a "Bondo Wagon" today.

5. cleatus

cleatus
    from Sacramento

Likely it was originally a derogatory term coined by hotrodders who spent all their time trying to get their cars lighter while the custom guys were adding tons of lead to their projects, but I don't think it was really taken as a great insult, just amuzing slang.

6. 3in1

3in1
    from nevada tx

I think its spot on but not an insult by any means .:)

7. Relic Stew

Relic Stew
    from Wisconsin

8. missysdad1

missysdad1

This is my take on it, too. Kind of a good-natured ribbing, given by hot rodders to customizers, both of whom coexisted in a friendly rivalry "back in the day"...which was my day, incidentally. :rolleyes:

9. missysdad1

missysdad1