Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Laws On Fenderless Cars

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by blazedogs, Dec 26, 2014.

1. blazedogs

blazedogs

The topic was brought up by a car buff several days ago that there are states where it is illegal to drive your fenderless cars on their roads.

God this irks me... I'm a old guy that comes from a family of vets that has a love for freedom.Our car will be fenderless and the Wife and I want to travel a bit. Should this be a concern ? Gene in Mn.

2. I live in a state (South Carolina) where there is no law pertaining to fenders and have driven my old roadster through several states that may or may not have a fender law,,I never had a problem with the long arm of the law driving a fenderless car. HRP

3. harpo1313

harpo1313
    from wareham,ma

Travel on ,no reason to fear a fender law.As a vet i would think youve been in worse situations.Enjoy your travels,and thanks.

4. I don't know the law in Wa but plenty of folks running without and never heard of anyone getting hassled here. Come on out!

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

5. CruZer

CruZer

For many years Mass. had this law. In the late 90's it was changed to let any 1948 or older car run fenderless. Why the legislature voted for 1948 or older is a mystery to me but I had sold my '40 Ford coupe by 2001 and I immeadiately started looking for a fenderless car. When I got my '34 coupe,I carried a paper copy of the law that I had gotten from the RMV just in case I got stopped or rejected for an inspection sticker. I drove that car all over until I swapped it for my roadster in 2007.
    I never had to show it to anyone!!!

6. I would have to think, unless a cop has a bug up his ass, even if the law is in place as long as you are not acting like an idiot they will look the other way and if the cop is out to ticket you even with fenders he will probably find some other stupid thing that he can get you on.