Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical ***June 2018 Banger Meet - What's New With Your Banger?***

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Jiminy, May 31, 2018.

  1. fine29
    Joined: Sep 13, 2008
    Posts: 515

    fine29
    Member
    from Des Moines

    I am running a filter before the pump. It being clogged would make sense. I unhooked it after it died and opened the valve and it flowed from before and after the filter. Once I put it back together the car started again with 3lbs of pressure and I drove for half a block before it gave me issues again. I'll change it out as well. Maybe order a fuel tank and put it in the trunk.


    Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.
     
  2. modelAsteve
    Joined: Jan 9, 2009
    Posts: 354

    modelAsteve
    Member

    You shouldn't have to do that. I have 2 As with the set up you have and they run fine.
    Another thought- do you have a non-vented radiator cap on the gas tank?
     
    Dannerr likes this.
  3. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    I run my fuel line from tank - filter - fuel pump - electric shut off - carb . might want to change your pluming ...
     
    Dannerr and fine29 like this.
  4. fine29
    Joined: Sep 13, 2008
    Posts: 515

    fine29
    Member
    from Des Moines

    Only reason I'd change tanks is because my car sat for awhile and I think it's full of crud.
     
  5. fine29
    Joined: Sep 13, 2008
    Posts: 515

    fine29
    Member
    from Des Moines

    I will definitely check it out, thank you.
     
  6. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    if tank has grude , double inline filters will work . I di that with my first "A" from Michigan
     
    fine29 likes this.
  7. fine29
    Joined: Sep 13, 2008
    Posts: 515

    fine29
    Member
    from Des Moines

    Where are you guys mounting your filters and pumps?
     
  8. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    filters are between tank & pump . (under dash) pump on firewall (outside)
     
    fine29 likes this.
  9. Binger
    Joined: Apr 28, 2008
    Posts: 1,686

    Binger
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from wyoming

    I mounted both on the firewall. My pressure regulator has the filter built in.
    IMG_0549.JPG
    I put a pressure gauge before the carb. This pic was before I got that far. Haha


    Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.
     
    Jet96, fine29 and winduptoy like this.
  10. What regulators (brand / model #) are used?
    What is the pressure setting?


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    Old Dawg likes this.
  11. brokenspoke
    Joined: Jul 26, 2005
    Posts: 2,885

    brokenspoke
    Member

    On the way to get a top made
     

    Attached Files:

    Jet96, Gastrap, Dannerr and 4 others like this.
  12. Holley Low- Pressure Regulator set at 2 1/2 p.s.i., no more than 3!
     
  13. Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  14. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    be sure you have a good remote pressure gauge to set pressure
     
    Old Dawg likes this.
  15. brokenspoke
    Joined: Jul 26, 2005
    Posts: 2,885

    brokenspoke
    Member

    My take on adding oil filter on my 1929 RPU... Mike's oil filter valve cover with a oil filter remote adapter, plumbed to timing gear filter cover, with Econoline oil filter housing.
     

    Attached Files:

    MJW and Binger like this.
  16. Binger
    Joined: Apr 28, 2008
    Posts: 1,686

    Binger
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from wyoming

    I am using a carter pump and a Malapasi filter/regulator and run it about 2lbs.


    Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.
     
    Dannerr likes this.
  17. winduptoy
    Joined: Feb 19, 2013
    Posts: 2,120

    winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    IMG_20180622_150142419.jpg modified the firewall loosing the electrical terminal box so I can take the valve cover off. Just squirted some paint on it.

    Sent from my XT1254 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  18. RussTee
    Joined: Mar 25, 2008
    Posts: 1,208

    RussTee
    Member

    Is anyone useing an O2 sensor and gauge If so what brand is best and do they add any advantage?
     
    Herb Kephart likes this.
  19. winduptoy
    Joined: Feb 19, 2013
    Posts: 2,120

    winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

  20. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    good for you . I do not like my car not running ! or anything I own ........
     
  21. winduptoy
    Joined: Feb 19, 2013
    Posts: 2,120

    winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I've got a buddy that uses a wide band O2 sensor to tune on his banger I'll ask him and let you know

    Sent from my XT1254 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  22. winduptoy
    Joined: Feb 19, 2013
    Posts: 2,120

    winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Innovate Motorsport...

    Sent from my XT1254 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    Dannerr likes this.
  23. colinsmithson
    Joined: Jan 27, 2013
    Posts: 383

    colinsmithson
    Member

    Rusty I had a O2 sensor ( Innovate Motorsport) fitted for a while as a tuning add worked well for setting carby jets and timing curves
    Only hassle is getting the sensor in the correct place needs to be on top of exhaust and set distance
     
  24. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    rusty , that would be interesting to me . looking forward to more info ............ thanks
     
  25. RussTee
    Joined: Mar 25, 2008
    Posts: 1,208

    RussTee
    Member

    Thanks fellas have used one to set up the carbs now wondering about useing one as a permanent fixture to me they seem cheap insurance to check your motor
     
  26. Crazydaddyo
    Joined: Apr 6, 2008
    Posts: 3,179

    Crazydaddyo
    Member

    I used one on Pop's truck and tuned his 3 Stromberg set up to a well performing stumble free joy to drive.

    This is the set up I have.:
    https://www.summitracing.com/search...y=Default&SortOrder=Default&autoview=SKU&ar=1

    I didn't permanently mount the gauge because I want to use it on multiple cars.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    .
     
    Dannerr and winduptoy like this.
  27. callcoy
    Joined: Aug 31, 2008
    Posts: 133

    callcoy
    Member

    Had a good day last week as I picked up my Lempco clutch and flywheel balancer, old and used but will have a place of honor in my hobby shop. Getting setup to turn some Banger flywheels and do some V8 and diaphragm clutch mods.

    Of interest to some that follow Pike Peak, VW set and broke the all time elapse time by about 16 seconds with their electric car. Son in law is there with a diesel powered F1 PU and called while I was on the road. Will have some info in a day or two on a vintage Pike Peak car from the early 20's that I was shown this past Saturday.
     
  28. For those of you coming from a long ways (and those that want to spend a GREAT weekend in the
    Central Coast of California; here's an addition to the previous flyer on the Rancho Santa Margarita F.A.ST. Time Trials. Not mentioned here is the local "Early Ford V8 Club" has a show just up the road in Atascadero Park on Sunday. And, if you tire of the dry heat on the Ranch take a short drive out to the seacoast and cool off. Questions, anyone? FASTfollowup.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2018
    Dannerr likes this.
  29. lake_harley
    Joined: Jun 4, 2017
    Posts: 1,105

    lake_harley
    Member

    Is there a generally acceptable, reasonable RPM to run a Model A 4-banger with (presumed) decent Babbitt bearings and 5.2:1 compression? I've been playing with a tire size/gear ratio/RPM calculator and really don't know a acceptable cruise RPM to use for comparison purposes. I seem to recall reading that 2200-ish RPM is a sensible number, or is that lower than necessary? I don't want to use numbers that would be flogging it.

    Thanks

    Lynn
     
  30. V4F
    Joined: Aug 8, 2008
    Posts: 4,129

    V4F
    Member
    from middle ca.

    I run 1800 for long distance @ 60mph . 1950 @ 65mph . my motor is insert , balanced , aluminum rods & pressurized oil system . went to Idaho last year (1500 round trip) with no problem . I believe I could go coast to coast at 65 & the motor would be good . it took me awhile to calculate how to get there , but I like it . my motor is 7-1 with 125# compression per cylinder .
     
    Dannerr and Herb Kephart like this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.