Register now to get rid of these ads!

"It won't work" Chuck Miller show car Kaehni ignition

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by landseaandair, Oct 7, 2013.

1. landseaandair

landseaandair
    from phoenix

There was a picture posted of Chuck Miller's Buick powered T show car a while back but can't seem to find it, I think blue with it's bright red and controversial ignition system with the typical WTF is going on here. I studied it over and over and nobody seemed to be able to come up with any solid info. After mulling through my buddies stash of old mags last night I came upon this.

Boils down to a constant spark with the plugs contained in a pre-combustion chamber that ignites the main charge under pressure. Compression initiates firing like a diesel though it's the spark not heat that lights it off.

From Hot Rod, APR. 1966

020.jpg 021.jpg

022.jpg 023.jpg

2. anteek49

anteek49

I've posted several times looking for information. No luck. There was picture of the engine in CarCraft in mid-late '60's,maybe an article on the car but no explanation.

3. Found this in an old HR mag. Sorry for the crappy cell phone pic...don't have a scanner.
    [​IMG]

4. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole

It's a modern version of the hot tube ignition used on early gas engines, before electric ignition.

There is a coil of the type used on oil furnaces that produces a continuous, buzzing spark. The spark plugs are located up a tube connected to the combustion chamber. The intake mixture is drawn in the intake valve in the usual way. It does not burn or explode because it is too far away from the spark. Until the piston comes up on compression, forcing the gas mixture up the pipe and into contact with the spark. Then you get ignition.

The only way to adjust the "timing" is to make the pipe longer or shorter.