Register now to get rid of these ads!

is there a future for proffesional welding

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by DamnYankeesKustoms, Dec 20, 2010.

1. DamnYankeesKustoms

DamnYankeesKustoms

I am asking this question because I have been debating on going back to college to take two year welding class, or should I continue to try and acquire a job or a career rather, at a company that offers on the job training, (I'm pretty much self taught in oxy and mig welding)

thanks in advance for any advice

2. El Caballo

El Caballo

If you want to weld, and are serious about it, and serious about getting good at it, go to school. I have not run accross anyone in the 20 years I have been in the EPC business who was self taught. Keep in mind that the companies I deal with have a U stamp and in some cases are nuclear qualified (N stamp), so no pikers. Do yourself a favor, get trained up properly. Any sacrifice now will pay off later. I am getting my masters even now, you have to get a resume that is going to attract the right companies to work for.

3. bobscogin

bobscogin

Seems to me that if you can find a paying job where you can get a paycheck and on the job training too, you'd be ahead. Just my opinion, but you did ask.;)

Bob

4. 1320/150

1320/150

Maybe not a Discovery Channel hot rod shop career,but buildings can't go up without welding. I know the economy isn't the best,but there might be a future for you as welder in the trades!I went the apprenticeship route,and haven't looked back. I am a sheet metal worker,and I have done everything from welding countertops,to hanging 1,000's of feet of duct in the air in one day. A ton of variety,and I get paid alot to practice for my hot rods!!!

Register now to get rid of these ads!

5. the welder is king!

6. 61bone

61bone

A line welder is going to make 20-30 G a year. A certified is goiing to get 25-45. A rated welder , the skys the limit. Get you schooling and all the ratings you can.

7. Mr48chev