Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical International BD269 trans options

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 55willys, Nov 26, 2015.

1. 55willys

55willys

I will be getting this International Blue Diamond 269 ci. engine for my International KB hot rod truck. I am new to these engines and was wondering what trans will interchange and what engines and bell housings are compatible with each other. I was thinking I could maybe use aT19 out of a Scout or Jeep.
    I might be able to make an adapter to fit the back of the block and use a Ford, Chevy, Jeep, International or Mopar bell housing. I know I am thinking way outside the box here putting an International in an International. International BD 269 R.jpg International BD 269 L.jpg International BD 269 rebuild tag.jpg Any thoughts or direction of someone who has done this would be greatly appreciated. Here are some pics and I hope to have the engine in the next few weeks.

2. Interesting,,,,a great TRUCK engine, but not much for a rod. Only about 100 hp @ 2800 rpm. What year is it?

3. 55willys

55willys

Not sure on the year but think it is in the 50's because it has a 5 speed. The guy I am getting it from pulled it out of a REO. The plan is to put a blower on it eventually. The low compression ratio lends itself to being super charged.

4. That would be awesome.

5. 55willys

55willys

The great thing about it is that if I don't like it I can change it because its a hot rod. I am having a lot of fun building this hot rod truck. Maybe I should go bigger with a Red Diamond like a 406 or a 501 nothing beats cubic inches, right?