Register now to get rid of these ads!

I'm a Machinist, not a Body Man

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by wrenchbender54, May 3, 2006.

1. I was getting ready to replace the tail panel on my 54 Chev tonight, and decided it would be wise to adjust the gaps on the decklid first, since this is the reference for the tail panel. I messed with it for over an hour, trying to get the damn deck lid to fit properly, with no luck. The top edge sits too low, and the bottom edge sticks out too much, and hits the tail panel. Both bottom corners stick out about 1/4" away from the body.
    There are 4 bolts that hold it on. The holes in the hinges are slotted, and the bolts thread into some sort of a block that's sandwiched into the deck. The blocks move around a little bit. So, there is a lot of adjustment back and forth, and in and out. I tried adjusting the latch, in hopes that would help. Nope. I even tried putting washers between the hinge and the deck lid, to try and shim it up. But that didn't work. I'm a machinist by trade, and body work is something I'm learning as I go. I just thought I'd ask here, before I get out the hammers and dollies and start "adjusting" my deck lid. Can someone please give me some pointers.

2. Chaz

Chaz
    Member Emeritus

Adjusting oftentimes includes bending or warping the lid a bit. Use your bodyweight and some wooden blocks. From your description, It sounds like your lid needs some tweaking as wll as some hinge adjustment.

3. If you remove the lid and free up that threaded block inside the lid you will see it has more adjustment left there...
    A tip: If the lid sits HIGH at the edge nearest rear window panel- you can open the trunk lid and gently force it UPWARDS a little till it "gives"....
    This will effectively suck that end DOWNWARDS.