Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hydraulic Throttle

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by pan-dragger, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. pan-dragger
    Joined: Sep 13, 2006
    Posts: 3,187

    pan-dragger
    Member

    I've been thinking about using a hydraulic throttle set-up. anyone have any experience with these, good or bad.:D
     
  2. I ran one on the Pontiac/Hilborn dragster back in the 60's. Hated the thing. It got air in it and didn't open the throttles all the way. Perhaps they're built better these days.
     
  3. Skirv
    Joined: Jul 5, 2006
    Posts: 1,183

    Skirv
    Member

    Like JohnyFast., I tried to use one but never got it to fully function. I'm not sure what I was doing wrong. I ended up pulling it out of the car before it was ever on the road. I still have the thing sitting on a shelf.
     
  4. pan-dragger
    Joined: Sep 13, 2006
    Posts: 3,187

    pan-dragger
    Member

    what type do you have? do you have any pics of it.
     

  5. Skirv
    Joined: Jul 5, 2006
    Posts: 1,183

    Skirv
    Member

    I don't have any pics of mine but I can take some Sat. The brand name is CNC. This is a pic of it from their website. This is the same model that I have.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. fast_46
    Joined: Feb 8, 2007
    Posts: 17

    fast_46
    Member

    I've never heard of these in a car before....what's the advantage?
     
  7. Slow throttle response.
     
  8. I think that if it's in a tight application you can run the hose more easily than a cable or linkage.
     
  9. airsix
    Joined: Jun 7, 2006
    Posts: 26

    airsix
    Member

    They are great for rear and mid-engined cars and dune-buggies (which is the crowd that CNC caters to). Routing a mechanical linkage 9 feet and around a bunch of corners can be a PITA. I used their pull-style slave cylinder to convert from a long strech-prone cable to hydraulic clutch in my mid-engined time-trial car ('73 VW/Porsche 914-4 w/ DIY turbo/efi). Their stuff seemed to be pretty good quality.

    -Ben
     
  10. pan-dragger
    Joined: Sep 13, 2006
    Posts: 3,187

    pan-dragger
    Member

  11. 2manybillz
    Joined: May 30, 2005
    Posts: 827

    2manybillz
    Member

    Back about the time you were trying this and I was building my first altered I was told by the "experienced ones" to stay away from them for the same reason - maybe they've been improved in the past 45 years.
     
  12. RichFox
    Joined: Dec 3, 2006
    Posts: 10,020

    RichFox
    Member

    My experiance was about the same. Once was enough.
     
  13. Salty
    Joined: Jul 24, 2006
    Posts: 2,259

    Salty
    Member
    from Florida

    Used one once...looked exactly the same as the cnc unit but I do not remember what the name was...(was a number of years ago) I stand by the others statements, PIA....never again...
     
  14. pan-dragger
    Joined: Sep 13, 2006
    Posts: 3,187

    pan-dragger
    Member

    well sounds like more bad than good, i'll just have to build it with linkage. thanks for the input.
     
  15. Falcon Gasser
    Joined: Aug 29, 2007
    Posts: 940

    Falcon Gasser
    Member

    I have used a CNC pedal for 6 years in my Bantam Altered and have never had a problem with it. Its fast to open the throttle and never has air in the system. I bleed it at the start of every season and have very good luck. But I might be the lucky one too.

    Jon

    norwlak 2007 (3) 107 compress.jpg
     
  16. ray
    Joined: Jun 25, 2001
    Posts: 3,767

    ray
    Member
    from colorado

    why? what are you using as hyd fluid? bearing grease?

    nobody complains about hydraulic brakes being slow to react, or hydraulic clutches. methinks something must be wrong with the setup, ie. fluid that's too thick.
     
  17. knotheads
    Joined: Jan 4, 2007
    Posts: 499

    knotheads
    Member

    i did a v-8 swap into a 63 econoline for a friend of mine one time ..i wasnt able to find the v-8 linkage pieces new or used ,so i used a hydro set up from moon equipment .after a little careful routing to stay clear of the exhaust it worked pretty good.
     
  18. k9racer
    Joined: Jan 20, 2003
    Posts: 3,091

    k9racer
    Member

    I crewed on a dirt car many years ago with a hyd throttle. we had a lot of problems until we went to a very soft return spring. then it worker a lot better. next year they had a engine location rule so we did not need the hyd unit...Bobby..
     
  19. nexxussian
    Joined: Mar 14, 2007
    Posts: 3,240

    nexxussian
    Member

    The only guys I know that were mesing with these were trying to make 2 engines work off one pedal (twin M/C so the slaves would move the same without cable stretch). They were basically trying to make a 4WD Toronado (one in the front, one in the back). They never stayed put together long enough to know (their dream ability was much better than their weld / fab ability). But they tried cables first, the rear engine always lagged the front with the cable setup. I asked why they couldn't just make them the same length and spool the front one up, just got a blank stare. They were using bicycle brake cable and sheaths for throttle cable as you could buy it on a roll from a local bicycle shop. A stronger cable (bigger diameter) wouldn't have such variance in stretch, but that was back in the late 70's and you couldn't order as much stuff as you can now, and they didn't think of using a tube or braided Teflon hose for sheath.
     
  20. Bugman
    Joined: Nov 17, 2001
    Posts: 3,483

    Bugman
    Member

    I've messed with one, on a 455 Olds powered Lamborghini kit car. Once bled, it seemed to work quite well(wasn't hard to bleed either). I worked on the car in Dec/Jan too and had no problem with throttle response even in the cold. I don't know how well it held up long term though as the car was only in our shop for a month.
     
  21. A4ord
    Joined: Feb 14, 2007
    Posts: 77

    A4ord
    Member

    I seem to recollect that one Micheal Thompson used a hydraulic throttle on his race car at Bonneville and he ran 406mph with it.A few trucks use them as well.Hillman Imps were another car that had them too,I think.If you look at the second motor you can see part of the linkage setup. keep on roddin'
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.