Register now to get rid of these ads!

How to use a shrinking disc

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 57suede, Mar 2, 2011.

1. 57suede

57suede

Hey everyone,

FNG here with a question about shrinking discs.
    I reskinned the doors on my '57 210 sedan and they seemed to fit pretty well, with the exception that the center of the new skins are kinda poofed out. I laid a level across the mid section of the door horizontally, and have a gap of 3/8" at either end of the door between the door and the level. I've been told I can reduce this swelling with a shrinking disc, but I've haven't seen one used, much less have never used one. Is this the way to go?

I'm learning bodywork as I go along, I'm by no means a pro. What do you all recommend?

Tim

2. Da Tinman

Da Tinman

3. bct

bct

i'm no expert either , but was it puffed out before you installed it? maybe you need to stretch the surrounding areas rather than shrink the center....a 3/8 curve over the length of that door doesn't sound that bad...

if you shrink the center and it oilcans you are going the wrong way

4. Tim-

To follow on a bit further with Jay's YouTube link, here is John Kelly's web site: http://ghiaspecialties.com/ You can get the DVDs from him directly if you want to go further on. John is also on the H.A.M.B.

5. I know this is a prrtty obvious question, but have you tried refitting the door back on the car. Sometimes things look wrong when they aren't on the car, but when we reassemble it, it's not as bad as you thought.