Register now to get rid of these ads!

How To Post Images On A Thread

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Ryan, May 12, 2014.

  1. If you're having trouble posting images it might help to know if you're trying to post from a phone, tablet, laptop or desktop computer. What browser are you using? Do you know the pixel dimensions of the image, like 1600 x 1200 pixels? Are you trying to link the photos here from an image hosting site like Photobucket or are you uploading to the HAMB's servers for storage?
     
  2. Model A Mark
    Joined: Apr 30, 2008
    Posts: 1,264

    Model A Mark
    Member
    from dallas
    1. Holley 94 Group

    me too, same problem,
    I like the old HAMB better ............
     
  3. xderelict
    Joined: Jul 30, 2006
    Posts: 2,477

    xderelict
    Member Emeritus

    I'm on internet explorer with a desk top computer. My pixel size is 960x960.The images are in my computer files
     
  4. xderelict
    Joined: Jul 30, 2006
    Posts: 2,477

    xderelict
    Member Emeritus

  5. xderelict
    Joined: Jul 30, 2006
    Posts: 2,477

    xderelict
    Member Emeritus

    I uploaded this from photobucket.
     
  6. IMG_7781.JPG

    Weird I just did this one from Explorer from my computer and it is 2500x1900pixels with no issues
     
  7. Well this looks like one of those cases where things seem to have fixed themselves for now. I just suspect that sometimes people have problems as a result of trying to upload full sized 8 or 10 megapixel images straight from their phone or camera. It can really bog down the process especially if you have a slower internet connection.

    I've just always had good luck downsizing my images before uploading them anywhere online. It was critical back when I was using a dial-up connection. And it still makes pictures upload faster using DSL.
     
  8. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    New Camera Test............FAILED Too large, so how do I make the photo smaller? Bob
     
  9. The easiest way to experiment would be to try shooting a few shots at a smaller image size in your camera. Search thru your camera menus and look for a screen that lets select image size. You should be able to select something like 1024 x 768 pixels or 1600 x 1200 pixels. Try posting a couple samples here and see how it works.

    If you tend to make prints of your photos you may be better off shooting at the larger sizes and then dowsizing the pics you want to upload here on your computer.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2014
  10. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    Photo test FAILED! Said it was too large............Ok how do I know what size it is and what the HAMB wants? Bob
     
  11. carpok
    Joined: Dec 29, 2009
    Posts: 389

    carpok
    Member
    from Indy

    I'll try one usually use photobucket. image.jpg

    That worked great thanks Ryan
     
  12. Did you set your camera to shoot smaller images or did you downsize them after downloading them to your computer?
     
  13. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    I don't know how to do either. Bob
     
  14. Well, you'll probably keep getting the same results then.

    What make and model is your new camera? And for that matter what model was your old camera that it replaced?
     
  15. chop job
    Joined: Feb 16, 2013
    Posts: 533

    chop job
    Member
    from Wisconsin
    1. WISCONSON HAMBERS

    lets try this IMG_2422.JPG
     
  16. chop job
    Joined: Feb 16, 2013
    Posts: 533

    chop job
    Member
    from Wisconsin
    1. WISCONSON HAMBERS

    WOW THAT WAS EASY!!!!! Now maybe I will start my build.
     
  17. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    Nothing works here, but the same size works fine on eBay, Why? Bob
     
  18. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    Anyone out there that would be able to accept a test photo from me and tell me what size it is? QUESTION NUMBER TWO, What size does the HAMB want? Bob
     
  19. Between your internet service provider and mine, you may have trouble attaching and sending a 12 or 18 mega-pixel image. And I might have a problem trying to receive an email attachment that large.

    I just thought that if I knew what make and model of camera you were using I might be able to better walk you thru the process of setting your camera to shoot at a smaller image size more appropriate for uploading to the web.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2014
  20. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    Another test.......................FAILED Too Large. Bob
     
  21. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    Is there a CAN'T POST PHOTOS ON THE HAMB club? Bob
     
  22. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    Saturday morning and ANOTHER failed attempt after setting the camera on the SMALLEST size available. Is it as simple as the HAMB won't accept photos from some camers, and I bought the wrong one? Bob
     
  23. Well I'm guessing that you're trying to upload a JPEG image, not a TIFF or a RAW file of some sort. And that you're uploading from a desktop computer using Internet Explorer as your browser. Shouldn't make any difference but you might try using a different browser like Firefox or Chrome. I'm guessing that you have at least a moderately fast internet connection like DSL, or are you possibly using a dial-up connection?

    If you think you've set your camera to shoot smaller images I'll send you a PM with my email address. Try attaching a photo and send me copy and I'll see if anything looks obviously out of whack.
     
  24. Once you have loaded your pictures into your computer go to the file you have them in you should be able to hold the cursor over the thumbnail of the picture and the size information should come up it will give you a dimension which will be written like 970 X 850 and then below should give you a size which should be expressed in a number of KB's or MB's. Ryan says you can go as big a 5 MB but it will depend on your internet sever as well.
     
  25. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    Another test: First photo I ever took with the new camera is 4608 x 3456 and 6.65Mb === CLUELESS what that means. With the setting set at the lowest I took one that has 2304 x 1728 and 2.01 MB. Both are GREAT photos, the camera paid for itself with the photos it took and had ACCEPTED by eBay. Bob
     
  26. The first is definitely too big. The second should work but if you have a slow internet connection it may run out of time before it loads and that would probably cause the file too big issue. As mentioned you may also try a different browser when trying to upload the pictures as some seem to cause issues with stuff working here for some reason.
     
  27. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 26,719

    The37Kid
    Member

    Really, Will that take more or less time than me rewiring the Space Shuttle? Bob
     
    kidcampbell71 likes this.
  28. Rot 'n Kustom
    Joined: Sep 24, 2004
    Posts: 1,908

    Rot 'n Kustom
    Member

    When I press "upload a file" nothing happens.
    I am on a Windows desktop using Firefox. I have checked and javascript is enabled.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2014
  29. Rot 'n Kustom
    Joined: Sep 24, 2004
    Posts: 1,908

    Rot 'n Kustom
    Member

    1940Fordpickup 04.jpg Testing with Explorer. Works. The problem is within Firefox.
     
  30. gnichols
    Joined: Mar 6, 2008
    Posts: 10,650

    gnichols
    Member
    from Tampa, FL

    Ok, I've been away a couple of weeks and...

    I just started a thread on a recent trip. But I can only post one photo at a time! What gives? I can distinctly remember being able to post groups of images at a time. All I get is a funky window that takes me to my computer. After clicking thru the varius folders and files (quite time consuming) I select my image and insert it. But there is no other tab or button that lets me bring in multiple images from the same folder. When I try to add a second image, it takes me thru the same aggravating routine, from folder to folder to file. It would take forever to load images this way. Also, I thought I'd try to load the images I wanted into another album in my personal pages and then load them from there. But I can no longer find a way to add an album, let alone populate it with photos. What gives? Help please! Gary
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.