Register now to get rid of these ads!

How To Post Images On A Thread

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Ryan, May 12, 2014.

  1. 37_Ford
    Joined: Mar 9, 2011
    Posts: 4

    37_Ford
    Member
    from Illinois

    First attempt
    HAMB 4.jpg
     
  2. 2redrovers
    Joined: Oct 13, 2013
    Posts: 64

    2redrovers
    Member

    Testing. Keep getting an error msg saying community doesn't allow uploads of jpg format?? DSC_1213_20180426102520131.jpg

    Sent from my G8141 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  3. dirty old man
    Joined: Feb 2, 2008
    Posts: 7,510

    dirty old man
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Going to give it a try with my roadster and my son and DIL in it on a driveby. BGII pic.JPG
     
    RICH B likes this.
  4. Congratulations Dave, who says ya can't teach a old dog a new trick? :D HRP
     
  5. Shutter Speed
    Joined: Feb 2, 2017
    Posts: 95

    Shutter Speed

  6. dirty old man
    Joined: Feb 2, 2008
    Posts: 7,510

    dirty old man
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    You did good, it worked:) Like that truck, is it a banger?:cool:
     
  7. chopndrop
    Joined: Feb 8, 2005
    Posts: 606

    chopndrop
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Don't know why my pictures don't show up in the post. Every once in a while it works, but usually I get this generic thumb nail at bottom you have to click on to open. I'm sure it's operator error
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Lil32
    Joined: Apr 4, 2012
    Posts: 988

    Lil32
    Member

  9. Lil32
    Joined: Apr 4, 2012
    Posts: 988

    Lil32
    Member

    I sent mine from my Apple IMac

    photos were taken on Pentax camera that were loaded onto disc
    and placed on computer
    I seem to have no problems
     
  10. motorplex88
    Joined: Jan 2, 2014
    Posts: 13

    motorplex88
    Member

    IMG_20171021_140655091_HDR.jpg Test
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018
    Lil32 likes this.
  11. Just noticed that the photo you uploaded here appears to be full size right out of the camera... It's 15+ megapixels (5312 x 2988 pixels), which is way bigger than it needs to be for web display in this forum. The HAMB may allow you to upload these huge image files but some internet services can have trouble handling them or they can make some browsers act a bit wonky.

    Try downsizing your images to something like a maximum of 1000 to 1200 pixels on the longest side while retaining the original aspect ratio. Your camera will probably allow you to shoot smaller image sizes (1600x1200 for example) as well, if you don't want to resize them after the fact.

    If you're shooting for the purpose of making large prints, shoot at the largest size possible. But for web display your images can be a lot smaller. The full size 15+ megapixel image file you uploaded was 2.9 MB (or 2,900 KB). The image in the post directly above this is only 350 KB or so. You'll also find that the smaller images upload a lot faster and they display more quickly when someone opens this web page.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2018
  12. chopndrop
    Joined: Feb 8, 2005
    Posts: 606

    chopndrop
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Thanks for the reply. Id like to figure this out . Picture was taken on phone. It was on highest setting. I just selected the lowest (2048x1152) but doesn't look like it's working still. Could it have something to do with my Internet connection? I don't have good service out here in the garage.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
  13. chopndrop
    Joined: Feb 8, 2005
    Posts: 606

    chopndrop
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Oddly enough, if I attach a screen shot, which is a png., works no problem. But a jpg, no worky.
    Screenshot_2018-10-11-22-56-17.png
    I don't get it. I don't claim to be technically advanced, but it shouldn't be this hard. I got to be doing something wrong
     
  14. Well since the PNG file is only about 168 KB and it loaded up and displays properly, I'm going to say that the larger file sizes are at least a contributing factor to some of your problems. But your internet connection may not be helping matters either.

    Are you trying to upload directly from your Samsung SM G870A phone or are you using a laptop or tablet with WIFI from your garage? Do you have a desktop machine in the house with your main internet connection that you can try uploading from? Is your internet service supplied by cable, fiber optic, landline DSL, satellite, etc.? o_O
     
  15. chopndrop
    Joined: Feb 8, 2005
    Posts: 606

    chopndrop
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Posting directly from my phone, that's all I have, no other devices. I tried several times last night in the house, both connected to our phone based WiFi as well as with WiFi turned off. Odd to me that the png files are no problem. As you can kinda see in my screenshot, the jpg will load but doesn't even give me the option of how to attach

    Screenshot_2018-10-12-07-59-25.png
     

    Attached Files:

  16. It sounds like you maybe have a landline phone with DSL and a router for the WiFi connection. That sounds similar to my setup and the DSL works fine for my needs. Sufficient speed for uploads, downloads and general surfing, but I'm not uploading 15 MP images or downloading 4K movies or playing multi-player video games.

    Are you using the HAMB app on your phone or can you try using a mobile browser of some kind and see if it works any better? Maybe try a different browser than your default or current choice.

    https://www.lifewire.com/list-of-mobile-web-browsers-3486250\

    Think maybe I'll try uploading one of your full size images with my desktop browser and see how it works.
     
  17. Attempting upload...

    No go. Just shows like your examples above with no option to choose to insert full size or thumbnail.


     

    Attached Files:

  18. chopndrop
    Joined: Feb 8, 2005
    Posts: 606

    chopndrop
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Not using the hamb app, have been using chrome. I am trying out Firefox right now but it looks the same, will load jpg quickly but doesn't even give me options to insert as thumbnail or full image.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. chopndrop
    Joined: Feb 8, 2005
    Posts: 606

    chopndrop
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Interesting. So problem with my jpgs? But screens shots from same phone work. Maybe I need to change a setting on my phone? I'm so not an IT guy
     
  20. Now we'll try it with the 15 MP image downsized to about 1 MP (1339 x 753 pixels). The file size is about 150 KB compared to about 2,953 KB for the full size image.

    BigImage02.jpg

    That seems to work OK. That's not to say that there still isn't maybe something a bit flaky with the forum, your browser or your internet connection. But this stuff always seems to work better and faster when you're working with smaller file sizes.
     
  21. chopndrop
    Joined: Feb 8, 2005
    Posts: 606

    chopndrop
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    The lowest setting on my phone is 2048x1152. And oddly enough, it appears the screenshot png that works is slightly larger than the smallest jpg that doesnt, 975kb vs 752kb. I don't know. I appreciate your help, and I am beginning to feel embarrassed I'm taking up so much space on this thread that apparently no one else has issues with. I did download your resized version of my large jpg and it worked. So, I guess the question is, how can I resize the pics on my phone? BigImage02.jpg
     
  22. Don't worry about wasting space in the forums. That's why the thread is here. Had you been able to properly upload full size images with this camera phone previously?

    You can have two different jpeg photos with the same pixel dimensions and they can have notably different file sizes. It mainly depends on the subject matter and detail of the photo and the amount of compression applied when saving the jpeg file.

    I don't have a lot of hands-on experience with smart phone cameras. But it seems that the later models are surprisingly sophisticated and capable of turning out better than average photos. I wish I could scan thru your phone's camera menus to see just what you're working with. Do you see any picture settings that say VGA, HD or Email instead of pixel dimensions like 1600 x 1200?

    I wonder if the phone might have some built-in software that allows for cropping and resizing images after the fact. Many of the mid-range, non-professional model cameras will do this in-camera to produce smaller, compressed images that are more suitable to send as email attachments. It would make sense that a phone/camera combo might also have this feature.
     
  23. chopndrop
    Joined: Feb 8, 2005
    Posts: 606

    chopndrop
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I don't see those any settings like that. There is however a separate program to edit photos. I have used it for cropping, but that's it. Looks like there is a way to resize images. 2018-10-15 16.13.54.jpg

    And looks like that works. So I have to take pic in lowest setting, then go and resize it in studio? Kind of a pain, but maybe that's what its going to take. Good thing I don't post much. Thanks for taking the time.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.