Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects How not to build a hotrod - My '33 Plymouth

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Johnny Sparkle, Jan 6, 2018.

1. Johnny Sparkle

Johnny Sparkle

So, I haven't posted a build thread on the HAMB in nearly a decade. I kinda miss having actual conversations about a project, and it's cold outside and I'm looking for motivation. So here I am. Hi.

I'm not kidding about this being a tutorial on what not to do. This car is a saga of bad decisions. I've been messing with this stupid car for about 5 years now, and it's still got another year or so of work left to do, I'm sure. I'll start from the beginning and make several posts showing my "progress."

Step 1: Break up with your girlfriend.

Yes. That's right. This will make you bummed out. Then you'll talk to a buddy that has a Plymouth coupe body. You always wanted a coupe. There's a hole in your heart, and you need to cram something in there, regardless of condition and wisdom. You should shove the world's rustiest and gunshot Plymouth in there. Isn't that better? Bonus points if it's an old dirt tracker that was torched in weird places and it's been rolled.

2. Johnny Sparkle

Johnny Sparkle

Step 2: Cut your new project into little pieces.
    Brace nothing. That will only slow you down. Make sure you only really use the remnants of the quarter panels once you're done cutting.

Step 3: Make new subrails.
    Don't worry, you'll cut these out later and throw most of it away. I tacked together the tattered remains of the subframe to get some rough measurements. It's important to just fake it till you make it. It's never going to be stock again anyway, you can't screw it up too bad.

Last edited: Jan 6, 2018
  3. glrbird

glrbird

No picturesshowing

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  4. williebill

williebill

This thread is really promising so far.
    I think I can relate.
    Continue, please.

5. Johnny Sparkle

Johnny Sparkle