Register now to get rid of these ads!

How long have you been building ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by DrSweeneyRod, Jan 22, 2013.

1. DrSweeneyRod

DrSweeneyRod
    from England

I have heard pleanty of stories about people building cars in a matter of weeks, and to me as a novice this is amazing( my favourite was a 31 vicky completely restored in 4 weeks from a wreck ) ...but not realistic for most of us. So how long have you been building and what ?

Also if you have any start and now pics.

2. Well I have been tinkering with my Willys for about 3 or 4 years now. It would have taken a couple of weekensds when i was young. I am under the gun now as I don't have anything to drive so I expect once I get after it I will be driving it in a couple of weeks.

Counting the Willys I have finished 7 cars and trucks since I joined the HAMb, about half of them were my drivers. The others were or are high zoot cars not mine. I don't od it for a living I just know of I want to keep busy I have to work on someone else's car as I am not a wealthy man.

3. Z=ke

Z=ke
    from Long Beach

It seems like a car takes a 1000 hours to build average quality from frame to finish, give or take. How much you can compress that time into months or weeks varies person to person. For me, that's about a year. I've done 3 in the last 10 years, but they don't fit in this forum well.

4. jesse1980

jesse1980

About 2 years for me

5. FrozenMerc

FrozenMerc

I have been rebuilding my '62 Merc since July 2008. I pulled it out of a tree row were it had sat since 1975. Currently the chassis and driveline are complete, I am just finishing up plumbing. 95% of the sheetmetal work is also done. Hopefully the car will head to the painters in the next couple of months.

Day 1:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Early December.

[​IMG]

It all takes time, just got to stay at it.

6. demonspeed

demonspeed