Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical How high does your sbc sit in model a frame

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by peter schmidt, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. Mr48chev
    Joined: Dec 28, 2007
    Posts: 30,027

    Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Hambers rig that the engine placement looks just right on.
    [​IMG]
    With the Model A banger in stock location the pan rail is just about even with the top of the frame rail. I'd think that one would want what ever engine he put in to have the centerline of the crank running pretty much on the same line as the stock crank did. Clearance issues and gotta have that jacked in the air gasser look aside.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. 1946caddy
    Joined: Dec 18, 2013
    Posts: 1,772

    1946caddy
    Member
    from washington

  3. geoford41
    Joined: Jul 26, 2011
    Posts: 604

    geoford41
    Member
    from Delaware

    I use SBC side mounts I welded up with standard rubber mounts and used Pete & Jakes frame Dimenson which I believe is 17 3/4" to the forward edge of the SBC frame mount, check their website see attached photos this went doen the to finance the '40 but I planned a 2" channel, 3" chop, reversed A DSC00766.JPG DSC00763.JPG DSC00769.JPG firewall
     
  4. dan31
    Joined: Jul 3, 2011
    Posts: 1,086

    dan31
    Member

    My 350 crank pully sits about a 1" lower than the front cross member [model a frame]
     
  5. pecker head
    Joined: Nov 8, 2006
    Posts: 3,907

    pecker head
    Member

    D6E3C884-DF94-4C5D-9245-DFF43E6FCC2A.jpeg 9BD54019-9CF5-4502-AAA7-CFC4B9E4A252.jpeg 62E885B2-2D17-4295-BEDD-A276A7086E12.jpeg How’s this? Gonna make permanent soon.
     
    Shadow Creek likes this.
  6. blvdbill
    Joined: Feb 2, 2010
    Posts: 373

    blvdbill
    Member
    from California

    I like my motors high 327 in Cabriolet -2.jpg
     
    scrap metal 48 and Just Gary like this.
  7. banginona40
    Joined: Mar 5, 2007
    Posts: 759

    banginona40
    Member

    Set up using a Zip's water pump riser
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. An old post from '16 re-popped. I wonder what the OP ended up with.
     
  9. Deescott
    Joined: Mar 1, 2017
    Posts: 244

    Deescott

    D406FA76-ED73-48F1-A54A-2DA319315A09.jpeg I’ve done 3 SBC/Model As, and I put my frame engine mounts flush with top of frame, use good flathead type rubber mounts, and a 1 3/4in aluminum spacer all with a hurst type mount. I have to trim stock GM fan 1/4in to keep it from hitting anything. I live in AZ,(114 degrees yesterday) drive everywhere and don’t overheat. And I modify the engine mount to use stock fuel pump. Pic looks horrible but it works
     
  10. baspinall
    Joined: Dec 8, 2009
    Posts: 450

    baspinall
    Member
    from SE PA

    I'm curious how many of you had to notch the "upper" firewall? My frame is aftermarket and it's looking like the upper firewall will need to be recessed or notched pretty good.
     
  11. scrap metal 48
    Joined: Sep 6, 2009
    Posts: 6,075

    scrap metal 48
    Member

    If you set the motor high enough to run a mechanical fan, on 28/29 A's you have to recess the upper part of the fire wall.. You can do this and still use the stock tank if you plan correctly...
     
  12. scrap metal 48
    Joined: Sep 6, 2009
    Posts: 6,075

    scrap metal 48
    Member

    Some pics of my old coupe with above done... I did not use original tank in this coupe but it can be done....**clic pic** engine 001.JPG engine 006.JPG
     
    Shadow Creek and pecker head like this.
  13. scrap metal 48
    Joined: Sep 6, 2009
    Posts: 6,075

    scrap metal 48
    Member

    One of my other old coupes running stock tank, upper firewall recessed and mechanical fan.. I'm done now... **clic pic** for sale pics II 007.JPG
     
    Shadow Creek and pecker head like this.
  14. Deescott
    Joined: Mar 1, 2017
    Posts: 244

    Deescott

    Without lengthening the frame or moving the body back, there’s no way to avoid altering the firewall on a model A with a SBC
     
  15. baspinall
    Joined: Dec 8, 2009
    Posts: 450

    baspinall
    Member
    from SE PA

    I don't seem to see many "upper" firewalls changed? Meaning in a 28-29 the front of the gas tank. The lower portions I see recessed. I'll be changing mine just seems like I haven't sen many that needed it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2019
  16. scrap metal 48
    Joined: Sep 6, 2009
    Posts: 6,075

    scrap metal 48
    Member

    If you set the motor high enough to run a mechanical fan, you have to recess the top portion of the firewall on a 28/29.. If you run the motor low and use an electric fan, you don't...
     
  17. I don't see many photos that actually show the motor in relation to the top of the frame, just general motor shots.
    And for reference i posted mine on page one.:) JW
     
    baspinall likes this.
  18. Francis bruno
    Joined: Apr 23, 2019
    Posts: 11

    Francis bruno

    It looks like yout firwall is not recessed much, did you stretch frame, im trying to mock up my 31 rpu .
     
  19. Its a Model T on an A frame and no. JW
     
  20. For P's and Q's..... my oil filter was almost level with the frame. No stepped frame, no weirdness... Tunnel was fine with pedals, and adequate.... DSCF0100.JPG
     
    26 T Ford RPU likes this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.