Register now to get rid of these ads!

How do you photograph chrome objects?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by BRENT in 10-uh-C, Nov 15, 2007.

1. BRENT in 10-uh-C

BRENT in 10-uh-C

I am trying to take detailed pictures of chrome hubcaps, bumpers, and etc. and the flash is messin' with the quality of the photo. Is there any tricks on how I can do this with a digial camera where it looks like photos in magazines?

Thanks!!

2. SUHRsc

SUHRsc

im no expert by any means
    but i think just getting proper lighting otherwise and then turning off the flash seems to work alright for me?

good luck
    Zach

3. I used to do product photography, jewelry mostly. I've hid behind a piece of foamcore with a hole for the lens. Only leaves a tiny black dot if the what you are backed up to is a big, white wall.

4. raven

raven

Think white sheet.
    Use that to 'wrap' the area around the object to be photgraphed.
    Use a strobe or light to light it from the outside of the 'wrap'
    Pin or clip the cloth around your lense to completely encase the object to be shot.
    Vary the intensity of the light for proper exposure.
    r

5. ANewBeat

ANewBeat
    from Floriduh

Turn the flash off. Indirect lighting is much more appealing. Also, look for your own reflection in the peice, try to keep it to a minimum.

6. Brad54

Brad54
    from Atl Ga

Is it an SLR (removable lenses) or a point-n-shoot?
    If it's an SLR, I like to set them up on a tripod, no flash, ambiant light, set the aperture for F12 or numerically bigger, let the camera figure out the shutter speed, hit the self timer and then step way out of the picture so my reflection isn't in it.
    If you have a flash you can aim, bounce it off the ceiling if you don't want to mess with the tripod and self timer.
    Otherwise, if it's point-and-shoot, light the whole room well, or put some spotlights/drop cords aimed at the chrome, and turn the flash off.