Register now to get rid of these ads!

How do i reseat piston rings in the car

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Shaggy, Jul 10, 2009.

1. Shaggy

Shaggy
    from Sultan, WA

The '64 283 in my daily i belive wont reseat a ring in one cylinder before i got the motor it had set just shy of 10 years in the back of a garage with 30k on a rebuild

I cant really do a full teardown because it in my only transport, but at the same time i keep loading up that plug so...

any tricks?

could it be soaked in kerosene overnight?? ...and oil replaced afterwords

2. RAY With

RAY With

Try the marvel mystery oil for a couple of days and if it dont work go to Schaler rislone in the cylinder for a day or so.

3. zimm

zimm
    from iowa

i have herd of an old trick uising bon-ami powder spap( like comet) dump a spoof full down the carb while the engin is running but i have never done it before sounds risky to me

4. 3in1

3in1
    from nevada tx

Could be a leak along the lower intake gaskets ,check for loose intake bolts .
    a bad guide that can be checked
    by a screw driver wedged between the retainer and rocker ,a little wiggle of the screw driver will make the stem feel sloppy.
    it could be a broken ring from surface rust in one cylinder that was exposed to water or just humid conditions what that means is the bore could be hurt. no hone no ring no easy fix .if its a driver just spend a grand for a rebuilder and change the engine after work one afternoon .

5. Von Rigg Fink

Von Rigg Fink
    from Garage

thats sounds pretty rough on bearings:eek:

pun intended

bring that piston up to close to TDC..pour in some MMO and let it set over night..if it dont do it the first try try it a few more times..try to get as much around the top of the piston as possible

or use trans fluid and kerosene mix 50/50