Register now to get rid of these ads!

House of Kolor question....

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by flyin'eye, Jan 11, 2004.

1. Can something else be substituted to reduce HOK intercoat clear? I only need to do a small amount, and our local HOK supplier isn't open today. HOK is owned by Valspar, I imagine Valspar 172 would reduce it OK, but I don't want to find out the hard way. Please don't lecture me on mixing brands, I just need to know what will work.......

2. I'm no expert but I was told that the HOK system is only compatible with HOK products.

My cousin is a painter and when I was looking at paints he told me that if I went HOK that I'd need to buy everything HOK.

Stacey

3. SwitchBlade327

SwitchBlade327

I used HOK base and flake with non HOK clears and not had any problems. From what I've noticed ove rthe past couple of years, theres almost always some other kind of reducer you can use, it's just figuring out which kind is the problem. Do you have enough material so that you could do a test spray and see what happens?

4. yeah, I guess I should get off my lazy ass and do a test panel. Pro painters ALWAYS say you have to stick with one brand, but I've never had a problem. I just thought maybe someone knew of something else that would work.....

5. lownslow

lownslow

no do not do it .........always stick with 1 brand .....you have been lucky so far...but your luck will run out eventually ........is it really worth fuckin up a job to do it today ????????? get the right stuff ...especially when dealing with house of kolor

6. SwitchBlade327

SwitchBlade327

I woulda loved to used the HOK clear, but there just wasn't any way I could've afforded to use it, it alone was going to cost as much as the base, clear, and flake I bought altogether.