Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot rod photo-show

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by rebelrun, May 28, 2013.

1. rebelrun

rebelrun
    from deep south

I am going to be posting up some of my images of cars and shops as I progress through a new project I am trying to put together. I am a Collodion / Tintype photographer. I work in third photographic process to have been created and released to the world. It is all done by hand on sheets of Blackened metal or glass with silver nitrate, all chemistry is is mixed by me. I use 100 yr old cameras and lenses, a mobile darkbox. It is very intensive and some what magical. There is no digital manipulation or tampering of any kind with these photos. Everything must be done within about 8 minutes or the plate dries and the image is lost. The process was used to document the Civil War, and then was all but forgotten in the world. There are less then 200 practicing the process, and far less doing it everyday. I just find it haunting, and love the connection to materials to create an image. In the world of digital there is no material worth in the creation of the millions of images captured everyday. While there are many breathtaking photos and amazing photographers in the world, I just wish more people took the time to remember the hands on side of it all and where it came from.

Much like how we build our cars, with our hands and with our hearts. Thats how these images are captured.

Attached Files:

2. rebelrun

rebelrun
    from deep south

If anyone in the southeast is interested in maybe taking part of the project I am doing, please PM me. I am looking to shoot traditional rods and customs, as well as shops and garages.

3. Chemin

Chemin

Fascinating stuff.

4. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

5. mashed

mashed
    from 4077th

Love it.

I guess you don't have to worry about your subject matter moving on ya.

Seems like dogs where always blurry in old time images.

6. rebelrun

rebelrun